Wednesday, October 18, 2017

The Dead House by Dawn Kurtagich

Synopsis

Title: The Dead House
Author: Dawn Kurtagich
Pages: 400
Published: September 15th 2015
Publisher: Little, Brown Books
Genre: Young Adult/Horror/Mystery/Paranormal
My Rating: 3/5
Add To: Goodreads

Three students: dead.
Carly Johnson: vanished without a trace.

Two decades have passed since an inferno swept through Elmbridge High, claiming the lives of three teenagers and causing one student, Carly Johnson, to disappear. The main suspect: Kaitlyn, "the girl of nowhere."
Kaitlyn's diary, discovered in the ruins of Elmbridge High, reveals the thoughts of a disturbed mind. Its charred pages tell a sinister version of events that took place that tragic night, and the girl of nowhere is caught in the center of it all. But many claim Kaitlyn doesn't exist, and in a way, she doesn't - because she is the alter ego of Carly Johnson.
Carly gets the day. Kaitlyn has the night. It's during the night that a mystery surrounding the Dead House unravels and a dark, twisted magic ruins the lives of each student that dares touch it.
Debut author Dawn Kurtagich masterfully weaves together a thrilling and terrifying story using psychiatric reports, witness testimonials, video footage, and the discovered diary - and as the mystery grows, the horrifying truth about what happened that night unfolds.


My Thoughts
★★★ Stars

WTF.
No. Seriously. What the f*ck was that?

Once I started this book, I couldn't - wouldn't put it down. It's kept me sucked in and was so d*mn compelling that I NEEDED to know what was the cause of all of this. Was She crazy? Who did it? Was it paranormal? What is real? What is fake? So many questions. Thought many answers would soon be answered.

Until...

The ending. Not only was there absolutely no answers. It was the most anticlimactic thing I have ever laid my eyes upon. Like soggy d*mn Wheaties cereal or something. 

This whole book is lies! LIES I TELL YOU!!!

It builds and sucks you in and keeps you were... like the freaking dead house and then the end happens and you are left wondering what in the hell your suppose to do with it. I have no WORDS for what I feel about that, honestly. I think facial features covers that, pretty much. 

So because of the ending, it will be 3 stars instead of 5.

I would like to ADD that this book was awesome, the ONLY thing I didn't like was the ending. I thought it could have ended better or at least there would be a book 2 or something. That's just my thoughts on it. I hate cliffhangers. 

Tuesday, October 17, 2017

State of Emergency by Mary Hallberg

Synopsis

Title: State of Emergency
Author: Mary Hallberg
Pages: 158
Published: August 5th 2017
Publisher: Createspace
Genre: Young Adult/Horror/Zombies
My Rating: 4/5
Add To: Goodreads

17-year-old Dallas Langdon is fighting off zombies with a pizza cutter.

Dallas has always loved zombie movies. But when she catches a real live (erm, dead) musician eating a man’s intestines backstage after the show, she knows her movies have become a reality. And what do characters in zombie movies do? Seek shelter. Fortunately, Dallas's eccentric uncle owns a farmhouse in Chattanooga, an eight hour drive from New Orleans. It’s on top of a steep mountain, surrounded by electric fences, and cut off from the worlds of the living and the dead.

Dallas’s parents, still safe at home, laugh at her idea over the phone. Her friends only agree to join her because it’s fall break and they could use a mini vacation anyway.

But then Dallas’s best friend is killed by a zombie horde when they’re attracted to her ringing cell phone. Civilians think their reanimated loved ones simply have the flu, leaving them alive (well, undead) and rapidly increasing the zombies ranks. And since minors can’t buy guns, Dallas’s only weapon is a giant industrial pizza cutter she swipes from a gas station. George A. Romero never mentioned anything like this. With one friend dead and no zombie survival guides to help her, Dallas and her friends must get to Chattanooga before joining the ranks of the undead themselves.
My Thoughts
★★★★ Stars
I received this book in return for a honest review.

New Orleans? Zombies?
How can you possibly go wrong? You can't! 

I just want to put it out there that when I read "17-year-old Dallas Langdon is fighting off zombies with a pizza cutter."
I didn't read anything after that because I was already sold. I HAD to read this book and find out just how that would go down. Lol

Though the pizza cutter I thought of were the round home hand held ones with the handles.... Now I'm pretty sure it's those fancy curved ones. Lol my bad!!! 

I have never read a zombie book quiet like this before. Other books, when zombies attack, no one knows what they are or even uses the word "zombie" most of the time.

The main character (Dallas) knows everything and anything about zombies and wastes no time becoming the "kill first, ask questions later" girl. Even though she's still a teenager, she seems really mature for her age. Which is rare these days. Lol.

I loved the diversity of the zombies. Walkers, runners, even things being zombies you wouldn't have thought possible. Lol

I really enjoyed this book and will probably reread it 100 more times. Lol

But it did have a few issues. There were a few times things would be going smoothly and it suddenly jumps to something else. Leaves me feeling like I missed something.

The other thing is... It left me with a lot of questions but the main one us how do the zombies still have human qualities like the ones at the "office".

I really wish there was a book two but book one ended so well, I don't want that happy bubble to burst. Lol.

Friday, October 13, 2017

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Synopsis

Title: A Court of Thorns and Roses
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses #1
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Pages: 416
Published: May 5th 2015
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Genre: New Adult/Fantasy/Mature YA
My Rating: 5/5
Add To: Goodreads

Feyre's survival rests upon her ability to hunt and kill – the forest where she lives is a cold, bleak place in the long winter months. So when she spots a deer in the forest being pursued by a wolf, she cannot resist fighting it for the flesh. But to do so, she must kill the predator and killing something so precious comes at a price ...

Dragged to a magical kingdom for the murder of a faerie, Feyre discovers that her captor, his face obscured by a jewelled mask, is hiding far more than his piercing green eyes would suggest. Feyre's presence at the court is closely guarded, and as she begins to learn why, her feelings for him turn from hostility to passion and the faerie lands become an even more dangerous place. Feyre must fight to break an ancient curse, or she will lose him forever.

My Thoughts
★★★★★ Stars

I actually finished this day's ago but still am unable to write a complete review because my soul still hasn't returned and my brain is stuck on single words.

Amazing. Yaassss. Yummy. Tamlin. Lucien. Yaassss. Love. Need. Mine. Yaassss. Omg.

Update: 10/13/17

I'm ready to take a shot at putting together full sentences for the love of this book. 

I remember starting this book around the time it came out.... and wanting to put my head through a wall because I hated it. To be fair, it was on kindle - so I think that had a lot to do with it... maybe.

*Fast-forward to a few months ago and hearing non-stop hype over this book* I tried to read it again with audiotape.... Got a headache from hell. 

I decided to try it ONE more time because one of my friends was just head over heels in love and assured me that after the slow beginning, the promise of a magical experience would happen.. okay maybe she didn't use those "EXACT" words - but I am using them because they are freaking true! 

I read the start enough times to know what happened so I skipped to chapter 5, and am so glad I did. I sat down with this beautiful paperback and devoured it like my soul depended on it. 

I still have so many emotions on this book that are so hard to put into words. But I am surely trying. Lol. I thought the writing was magic. Maas has a way of pulling you in and making you feel every ounce of of this story. I admit even the pain of the start, it was boring but you still feel everything. From the hunger to the bitter cold seeping into your bones. 

I loved the diverse characters yet they reminded me so much of something ... or someone but I can't remember what. I fell in love with Lucien and Tam. Couldn't help it. I love Spring Court. and that is saying a lot because I naturally hate spring. Lol I hate Rhy though. But again, I was told when I read book 2, I will love him just as much. But we shall see, won't we. 


If you have read this book - tried to, I mean - After chapter 5,  it starts to pick up and get interesting. 

I love this book and hope I love the rest just as much. 


May or may not add more to this later.

Hotel for the Lost by Suzanne Young

Synopsis

Title: Hotel for the Lost
Original Title: Hotel Ruby
Author: Suzanne Young
Pages: 304
Published: October 4th 2016(first published November 3rd 2015)
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Genre: Young Adult/Horror
My Rating: 3/5
Add To: Goodreads

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Program comes a haunting, romantic, and suspenseful story about one girl’s search for healing in a grand and mysterious hotel full of secrets.
Stay tonight. Stay forever.
When Audrey Casella arrives for an unplanned stay at the grand Hotel Ruby, she’s grateful for the detour. Just months after their mother’s death, Audrey and her brother, Daniel, are on their way to live with their grandmother, dumped on the doorstep of a DNA-matched stranger because their father is drowning in his grief.
Audrey and her family only plan to stay the night, but life in the Ruby can be intoxicating, extending their stay as it provides endless distractions—including handsome guest Elias Lange, who sends Audrey’s pulse racing. However, the hotel proves to be as strange as it is beautiful. Nightly fancy affairs in the ballroom are invitation only, and Audrey seems to be the one guest who doesn’t have an invite. Instead, she joins the hotel staff on the rooftop, catching whispers about the hotel’s dark past.
The more Audrey learns about the new people she’s met, the more her curiosity grows. She’s torn in different directions—the pull of her past with its overwhelming loss, the promise of a future that holds little joy, and an in-between in a place that is so much more than it seems…
And the 13th chapter will only add to the mystery behind the 13th floor of Hotel Ruby...and ultimately, what it means for Audrey.
Welcome to the Ruby.

My Thoughts
★★★ Stars

The Shining meets Ghost Ship meets Rose Red

This was a great Halloween read. I thought it was well written and my love for Audrey is eternal. (kidding.)

But really I loved how spunky and sassy she was when she was mad. Lol. She was such a sweet character until she was rubbed the wrong way.

I loved all the diversity of characters. Though we can all agree we hate that one fella.

I'll say this. It was very predictable. From midway you can see the end coming from a mile away. Yet it keeps you reading because it's just that good and you want to know if you were right or not.

I did like the ending. Though the few chapters leading up to it were a bit slow and boring.

I wish we knew more about Hotel Ruby. We learn what happened there but we aren't really told how the hotel became a living thing.

The only problem I had were the chapter jumps. Each chapter seems to pick up a few hours after the last one ended so it making you have to guess/figure out what happened between.

Other than that it was good. Nor scary or creepy yet still a great Halloween read.

MARY: The Summoning by Hillary Monahan

Synopsis

Title: MARY: The Summoning
Series: Bloody Mary #1
Author: Hillary Monahan
Pages: 245
Published: September 2nd 2014
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
Genre: Young Adult/Horror
My Rating: 3/5
Add To: Goodreads

There is a right way and a wrong way to summon her.
Jess had done the research. Success requires precision: a dark room, a mirror, a candle, salt, and four teenage girls. Each of them--Jess, Shauna, Kitty, and Anna--must link hands, follow the rules . . . and never let go.
A thrilling fear spins around the room the first time Jess calls her name: "Bloody Mary. Bloody Mary. BLOODY MARY." A ripple of terror follows when a shadowy silhouette emerges through the fog, a specter trapped behind the mirror.
Once is not enough, though--at least not for Jess. Mary is called again. And again. But when their summoning circle is broken, Bloody Mary slips through the glass with a taste for revenge on her lips. As the girls struggle to escape Mary's wrath, loyalties are questioned, friendships are torn apart, and lives are forever altered.
A haunting trail of clues leads Shauna on a desperate search to uncover the legacy of Mary Worth. What she finds will change everything, but will it be enough to stop Mary--and Jess--before it's too late?



My Thoughts
★★★ Stars

So...

I've been obsessed with Bloody Mary since I was a little kid. Which I'm sure my obsession is my sister's fault because she was a teen when I was a kid.

This book shows a more modern story which I enjoyed. Mainly because it's RARE for anyone to know about Bloody Mary these days. I honestly thought she (as well as many other legends like Candy Man) died off in the 90s. So it's good to see a legacy live on. Lol

I loved all the diverse characters EXCEPT JESS!! She is the prime image of a two-faced-back-stabbing "friend". I don't know why any of them stayed friends with her when she was nothing but a bully who talked about the other behind their backs. I couldn't help wondering why they didn't realize that as soon as they left, she'd talk about them as well. Smh.

Other than her, the story was great. Until the end. It was anticlimactic. There was so much excitement and then it flopped.

But I still want to get book 2 and find out what happens. I need to know.

If you're a horror fan or a bloody Mary fan I'd say you should try to read this book

Tuesday, September 26, 2017

The Creeps by Fran Krause

Synopsis
Title: The Creeps
Series: Deep Dark Fears Collection #2
Author: Fran Krause
Pages: 144
Published: September 26th 2017
Publisher: Ten Speed Press
Genre: Graphic Novel/Horror/Humor
My Rating: 5/5
Add To: Goodreads

A follow-up to the New York Times best-selling Deep Dark Fears: a second volume of comics based on people’s quirky, spooky, hilarious, and terrifying fears.

Illustrator, animator, teacher, and comic artist Fran Krause has touched a collective nerve with his wildly popular web comic series–and subsequent New York Times best-selling book–Deep Dark Fears. Here he brings readers more of the creepy, funny, and idiosyncratic fears they love illustrated in comic form–such as the fear that your pets will tell other animals all your embarrassing secrets, or that someone uses your house while you’re not home–as well as two longer comic short-stories about ghosts.
My Thoughts
★★★★★ Stars
I received this book in return for a honest review

I just got this book today and I couldn't help myself. I read it the second I got it.
It was a super fast read but memorable. This book will stay with you the rest of your life. 

I didn't know it was book two to a series which is a sad. Now I need to hunt down book one, because I don't want to miss anything. Haha. If it is anything like this, It is worth the read.

I like books like this... Not that I have ever seen a book like this before. I'm just saying if there are others like this, it's good. It shows that any crazy fear you may have, you're not alone. While reading this, I honestly couldn't help thinking that because I was called weird for so long with some of my fears. Now it turns out, I'm not alone. So that is a plus. Lol

I admit, some of these tickled me. I laughed a good bit. Like the parent who told their kid steam was the pig's ghost. Lol I couldn't help but laugh. I mean, who says that to someone? And where in the world did THEY hear it. 

Either way, I absolutely loved this book. I'm amazed how much I loved it really. 

Sunday, September 24, 2017

Love & Gelato by Jenna Evans Welch

Synopsis

Title: Love & Gelato
Author: Jenna Evans Welch
Pages: 389
Published: May 3rd 2016
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Genre: Young Adult/Contemporary
My Rating: 4/5
Add To: Goodreads

I made the wrong choice.

Lina is spending the summer in Tuscany, but she isn’t in the mood for Italy’s famous sunshine and fairy-tale landscape. She’s only there because it was her mother’s dying wish that she get to know her father. But what kind of father isn’t around for sixteen years? All Lina wants to do is get back home.

But then she is given a journal that her mom had kept when she lived in Italy. Suddenly Lina’s uncovering a magical world of secret romances, art, and hidden bakeries. A world that inspires Lina, along with the ever-so-charming Ren, to follow in her mother’s footsteps and unearth a secret that has been kept for far too long. It’s a secret that will change everything she knew about her mother, her father—and even herself.

People come to Italy for love and gelato, someone tells her, but sometimes they discover much more.


My Thoughts
★★★★ Stars

Turns out there's a reason they call it falling in love, because when it happens—really happens—that's exactly how it feels. There's no doing or trying, you just let go and hope that someone's going to be there to catch you.


There are exactly two emotions while reading this book. They are:

and 


This book was so stinkin' cute! I admit for the longest time, I put off getting it because I really thought it would be terrible (because I really don't like contemporary mainly and it just didn't sound that interesting to me.) 

*waits for the angry crowd to quiet down* 

Horrible of me, I know. Happy to let y'all know, I was totally wrong about that. Lol. Everyone I know whether they were on goodreads, Instagram, Facebook, pretty much everyone who had the book long before me, absolutely loved this book. So I broke down and bought it. So. Freaking. Glad. I Did. 

Love & Gelato was beautiful. It's this magical thing (for lack of a better word) that makes you feel like you are really there. You are Lina. Every up and down she goes through just rips at your heart and doesn't let go. There is no possible way you can actually put the book down because .. well... there is just no way. Lol You want to know what happens. You NEED to know. 

Every character is unforgettable. I have never read a book before where I can remember every character big OR little because they made such a impact. 

I only had one single issue with this book and that was the whole Ren and Lina bit at the end. I hated that people all knew he had a girlfriend and they still told Lina to "go for it!" to try to win him. Like he is a prize or something. That just bugs me. The whole "go for it" bit was almost enough to ruin this book for me because you are legit telling her it is okay to flirt/hit-on someone who is already in a relationship. Which made me see Lina as a homewreaker. It turned my stomach. I wanted to stop reading but I am glad it all worked out in the end. But it still doesn't change the fact that these grown-ups were telling her that it was totally okay to pursue him. I can see WHY they did but that still doesn't make it right. 

That was literally the only problem I had with this book. Besides that, it was a gripping, heart tugging, unforgettable ride. I wish I could put my feelings into words about how the ending felt. It was bittersweet. Like seeing a friend off, who is about to start this amazing life. It gives you warm fuzzy feelings but is also kinda sad.

I loved this book. I would recommend it. 

Saturday, September 16, 2017

Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella

Synopsis

Title: Finding Audrey
Author: Sophie Kinsella
Pages: 286
Published: June 9th 2015
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Genre: Young Adult/Contemporary/Mental Illness
My Rating: 4/5
Add To: Goodreads

An anxiety disorder disrupts fourteen-year-old Audrey’s daily life. She has been making slow but steady progress with Dr. Sarah, but when Audrey meets Linus, her brother’s gaming teammate, she is energized. She connects with him. Audrey can talk through her fears with Linus in a way she’s never been able to do with anyone before. As their friendship deepens and her recovery gains momentum, a sweet romantic connection develops, one that helps not just Audrey but also her entire family.

My Thoughts
★★★★ Stars

Eye contact is a big deal. It's the biggest deal. Just the thought makes me feel sick, right down to my core.

I actually finished this book a few days ago but I have still been trying to process my thoughts on this book. The book was great, don't get me wrong. It's just that is was SO great that is the problem. Lol

I don't know what took me so long to read this. I remember seeing it around in a lot of stores and in the library and I always glanced at it but never picked it up. This time, I couldn't help myself and I am glad I got it because, oh my gosh, Finding Audrey is freaking amazing!

I want to say the problem I had with the book is that whatever happened to her wasn't addressed. The reader doesn't know what happened to her so it makes it kinda hard to connect with her. All we know is something REALLY BAD happened and everyone has to tiptoe to not trigger her. But as someone with severe anxiety, I get  why it was written that way. I understand how damaging and dangerous it can be. But on the other hand, I feel like someone who doesn't have anxiety or depression won't understand it so it would be harder for them to connect with her.
I'm really hoping that makes sense. Lol

At some points, I hated all the characters except Frank. On the other hand, I loved them all. Because to me, they all represented some form of mental illness. Though I doubt the author meant for them to be that, that is just how I see them. OCD, Anxiety, Depression, ADHD, Bi-polar.... the works. Lol
And they weren't really ashamed of it. They were just "that" family. And I loved that.

Mental illness is such a sensitive subject. There is so much stigma. So it's always like a breath of fresh air when you read a book that hits the nail on the head that shows it's real. That is does happen. But it's also something you can work with and manage and overcome.

I really loved the ending of this book. I really hope everyone that reads it, finishes it. Because I admit there were times when I wanted to put it down for a while. (Mainly because of the mom and checked out dad) but i literally couldn't put it down. I needed to know how it would end. And the ending did not disappoint. This has got to be one of the most happiest endings I have ever read. Ever.

I would recommend this book.



***IN ADDITION*** 
(possible spoilers, be warned)

Because I know I will get some hate somewhere that she got "better" because of a "boy" and I would just like to say that is only part true. Here is my thought on it.
After what happened to her, I wouldn't doubt she has trust issues with girls. Even with her best friend. I think if Linus had been a girl, Audrey would still be in her din with her glasses on.

Linus was the key to helping her get better. Because her family and therapist couldn't. She said it herself that they were her safe place. So of course they wouldn't push her and if they did, she could easily ignore them or walk away.

At first I despised Linus. Because of all the things he said. I couldn't help but to hate him. But the more he came around, he helped set goals for her and she never had to do them alone. He also made them fun to do. He showed her "I can do it, you can too." and I think that is important to someone with anxiety. And if things went wrong, he helped. And by that, I do mean what he did in Starbucks. that was really awesome of him to do.

That's just my thought on it though.

Saturday, September 9, 2017

Top Ten Clues You're Clueless by Liz Czukas

Synopsis

Title: Top Ten Clues You're Clueless
Author: Liz Czukas
Pages: 304
Published: December 9th 2014
Publisher: Harper Teen
Genre: Young Adult/Contemporary
My Rating: 4/5
Add To: Goodreads

Top Five Things That Are Ruining Chloe’s Day
5) Working the 6:30 a.m. shift at GoodFoods Market
4) Crashing a cart into a customer’s car right in front of her snarky coworker Sammi
3) Trying to rock the “drowned rat” look after being caught in a snowstorm
2) Making zero progress with her crush, Tyson (see #3)
1) Being accused—along with her fellow teenage employees—of stealing upwards of $10,000
Chloe would rather be anywhere than locked in work jail (aka the break room) with five of her coworkers . . . even if one of them is Tyson. But if they can band together to clear their names, what looks like a total disaster might just make Chloe’s list of Top Ten Best Moments.

My Thoughts
★★★★ Stars

Before I can think any more about it, I lean into him and press my lips to his. I kiss him like I actually know what I'm doing. Like I've thrown myself at dozens off guys before - or, better yet, like dozens of them have thrown themselves at me[...]

I found this book at the library and thought "eh why not" - not like I would be FORCED to keep reading if I didn't like it. I really didn't think I would. But surprisingly, I really really liked it. 

Top Ten Clues You're Clueless was a cute and quick read. Though don't get me wrong, it had a few issues. Though I think they are more personal reasons than not. Because I'm sure others could read the same thing and it not bother them at all.

I didn't get the name of the book. It really doesn't seem to fit. But whatever. I mean Green Day had a CD called Dookie. So I guess it's whatever you feel that day, huh? Hahha! Anyway. 

I liked the characters. When it first started, I wasn't so sure about Chloe. But the more I read, the more I really did see her as the typical teenager. She ended up being a really good hearted (is that even a word? If not, sorry.)  person. 

As we read, we find out that Chloe is a diabetic and I was actually getting kinda mad because she always seemed to just brush it off like it was nothing. So at the end when it showed how dangerous it can be I was really happy about that. Not happy it happened but happy it showed that is can be dangerous and you should take good care of yourself. No matter what anyone else may or may not think. 

Another issue I had was around page 95 when she was talking about customers. While it talks about men and woman, when it gets to the mom, it points out that she was white. And I don't understand why. As if any other race would have done anything different. I don't understand why it was important for just her race to be pointed out and everyone else be plain "men" and "women" . She couldn't be just a "mom" she had to be a *white/black/brown/purple/blue/some unimportant detail* mom. 

Other than that, I really did like this book. I loved the divers characters and I love the bond and trials that grew between them. At the end, I really loved how something so bad can cause such a strong friendship bond. It's amazing how you can be around some people -whether it's working or at school and you never really talk to each other or you even have but don't like each other and something happens that draws you together. It's something you can't help but to love. Lol

As for who did it... I didn't see that coming. I thought from the second it happened I knew who did it and my thought NEVER changed till the second that all found out. That was mind blowing.

Mystery Blogger Award

Ello, hello, howdy, and ..well... hi.


As you can pretty much tell I was nominated. But who oh who sweet dearies lit the black flame candle? Hmmm. It really is no secret that I loved being tagged/nominated. Lol. I love doing these things for some reason. Why? I don't know. Maybe because it gives me many reasons to be as random as possible in a normally quite controlled professional setting. Lol. Not today though *runs wild eating cupcakes* - because what is life without cupcakes?! MINE! ALL MINE! ... kidding. you can have one. ONE! Mwahahah.... wait. Oh! Witches. Ghouls. Ghosts. and Totes? I welcome you, the wicked lovely Esther!! Yes! She is the one who nominated me! *happy dance*



For the ones who don't know what the Mystery Blogger Award is;
"Mystery Blogger Award" is an award for amazing bloggers with ingenious posts. Their blog not only captivates; it inspires and motivates. They are one of the best out there, and they deserve every recognition they get. This award is also for bloggers who find fun and inspiration in blogging; and they do it with so much love and passion.
- Okoto Enigma, the creator of this award

Rules


  • Put the award logo/image on your blog
  • List the rules
  • Thank whoever nominated you and provide a link to their blog
  • Mention the creator of the award and provide a link as well
  • Tell your readers 3 things about yourself
  • You have to nominate 10-20 people
  • Notify your nominees by commenting on their blog
  • Ask your nominees any 5 questions of your choice; with one weird or funny question (specify)
  • Share a link to your best post(s)

3 Things About Me


  • I actually prefer questionnaires than someone asking me to tell them about myself. At least with a questionnaire you can tell them things they are actually interested in instead of boring them to death with facts that are really just off the wall things that you think is cool or something. Lol 


  • People often ask why I read mainly Young Adult books - so in case you wonder as well it's because Adult books suck. To me, they do. Because when you read straight fiction or something, it has a never ending flow of cussing and sex. I can't help but to think "It IS possible to keep a reader entertained and hooked without all the cussing and sex." I really wanted to add a Dawson's Creek quote here where Dawson was talking about he doesn't understand everyone's obsession with sex because if it was really important then it would have been in a Spielberg film (I don't know if there were or not, I'm just trying to quote Dawson, not Spielberg).... But I can't find the whole quote but hopefully you get what I mean. Lol


  • I have severe anxiety and depression that it actually affects my memories and causes time loss. It's not fun and it's the hardest thing to explain to someone who doesn't realize that it's actually a thing. that it happens and you have literally zero control over it. It makes you feel like you have no control over your life. 


  • And a random one to grow on - I have a odd obsession with New Orleans (home is where the heart is I guess. Lol) I also have a obsession bookish candles and other bookish things. I want them all! Haha


My Questions from Esther

  • If you could recommend me one book that I would HAVE TO READ one day, which one would it be?

Oh man. That is a tough one. There are literally so many I love. I want to say Rose Petal Graves by Olivia Wildenstein but that isn't always everyone's cup of coffee. So, I would go with the Grey Wolves series by Quin Loftis. Yes. Series. Because if you read book one and like it, you will binge read the rest of the series. Lol I've yet to meet a person who hasn't.


  • What's the last book that made you cry so hard?

Books don't make me cry so when I say The Fault In Our Stars made me cry, I mean I ugly cried for HOURS. Even after I finished the book. I was sobbing so hard my face was purple.
*I want to throw in Rose Petal Graves did make me tear up a bit at one part, does that count? Lol


  • What's the last book that made you laugh so hard?

The Grey Wolves series by Quin Loftis. Hands down. Jen's character will have you rolling.


  • What book/bookseries are you most proud to have on your shelves?

If you mean I have no shame repping them and showing them off proudly - that would be Twilight. I have all the books, the game, the journal, ect. Lol but if you mean just in general I'm proud to have them.... I can't choose. I love all of my books. And I admit, I don't have the most updated books, but I am glad for what I do have. I have been saving so many books for so many years. I've had 90's books like Goosebumps, Sweet Valley High, and Fear Street passed down to me, so they hold a special place. Even if some are falling apart. I love all my books.


  • What's the last book that you DNF?

Probably about to be the one I am reading now (or trying to read) The Sunlight Pilgrims by Jenni Fagan. I received the book in return for a honest review and I always try my hardest to finish the books. But this one, I am still only on chapter two, and it just gives me a headache. It's heartbreaking because it had sounded so promising.

My Nominees
And anyone else who wants to do this. 

My Questions For You

  • What are your thoughts on Booktubes? If you like them, why? If you don't like them, why?
  • If a zombie outbreak happen and you could only have 5 books, what would they be?
  • What are your thoughts about racism in books? Should there be more books about it or do you think there is enough in our own lives?
  • Do you think book merch is important to show how big of a fan you are?
  • If you could give advise to any publishing company out there, what would it be?



My best post(s)
I honestly don't think I have any. If you have a favorite of mine, please let me know. I would love to see if anyone likes any certain post. Lol


Friday, September 1, 2017

Halloween Carnival Volume 1 by Brian James Freeman

Synopsis

Title: Halloween Carnival Volume 1
Series: Halloween Carnival Volume 1
Author: Robert McCammon, Kevin Lucia, John Little, Lisa Morton, Mark Allan Gunnells, Brian James Freeman
Genre: Horror/Short Stories
My Rating: 2/5
Add To: Goodreads

STRANGE CANDY by Robert McCammon
Chocolate bars and sour suckers are trick-or-treat staples, but beware the odd sweet at the bottom of your bag. You never know who it’s from—or what it might do to you.

THE RAGE OF ACHILLES by Kevin Lucia
Father Ward should have heeded the warnings about hearing confession on All Hallow’s Eve. Because a man is about to tell him a secret more haunting than any he has heard before.

DEMON AIR by John R. Little
Fear of flying is not uncommon. But on this transpacific airline, the real danger isn’t the flight itself. It’s whoever—or whatever—is up in the air with you.

LA HACIENDA DE LOS MUERTOS by Lisa Morton
Trick McGrew, former cowboy star of the silver screen, has never believed in tall tales. But down in Mexico, the land of La Llorona, he’s about to find out just how real urban legends can be.

#MAKEHALLOWEENSCARYAGAIN by Mark Allan Gunnells
Some people will go to any lengths to rack up retweets, likes, and follows on social media, no matter who they end up hurting . . . or even killing.



My Thoughts
★★ Star
I received this book in return for an honest review.

This is one of those "I wish I liked it, but I didn't" kind of books. 

I had such high hopes for this book because, it's September, got the whole Fall and Halloween vibe going on late. I was really wanting to kick it off with a creepy scary read. 

And this book failed to do that.... on a massive level. 

the first two stories were okay but hadn't much to do with Halloween. What they really had in common was making me cry my eyes out because they broke my heart into a thousand million pieces. 

Story three just made zero sense. there was no plot, story line, nothing worth even reading. 

The fourth story really just made me roll my eyes... a lot. There wasn't anything special about it. This kind of story has been done by anyone and everyone. I get it's a legend but... eh. Not to mention this story did kinda come off as insulting. After all, who likes the term "Mexican peasant"? But, whatever.

I honestly didn't like how the first four stories were told. I understand they were short stories, but there is a huge difference between short story and rushing to get something done with no actual ending. Don't get me wrong, the last story didn't have much of a ending either but it was still long enough to hook me and honestly, I think it had GREAT potential. The last story is what saved this from being a 1 star book. But yet it wasn't enough to make it a three star book. 

Personally this book wasn't worth my time (harsh, I know but I had such high hopes for it, and it let me down so bad) 

If you are looking for a simple quick - really really quick - read, this is great for you. But if you are looking for a ghostie/horror fix, I'd recommend the older books from the 80s/90s. Lol Y'all know the ones that you would read as a kid and they left you with nightmares for days afterward and a lifetime of childhood trauma? Those. Lol

♫Most wonderful time of the year♫

Okay not really but it's a start right!
IT'S SEPTEMBER!!!!
Finally, right?!

Okay now that that is out of the way, how has everyone been doing? Well I hope! I am so sorry I haven't been posting much. Again, hopefully that changes. I miss posting. I miss you all.. even if you don't miss me, I still miss you, my little zombabies! I dunno. Lol

I want to kick this off with, Texas, y'all are in my prayers! I know this is late and I apologize! I am sorry y'all are having to go through all of this. But never fear! The Cajun Army is there kicking butt and I know they won't let you down. Texas, you have Louisiana's love and prayers!


That eclipse really kicked up some dust into the world's eyes, am I right? No idea what the eclipse looked like, after all, from the awesome vantage points of Louisiana we got a EPIC view..... of a cloud. *sarcastic yaaay* Yep. That's what we saw.

Anywho, after that, floods, hurricanes, fires, earthquakes in places they have no business being just exploded all over. It's heart breaking. But have you noticed all the hate stopped. Even if it was just for a second. Everyone was helping everyone..... Except Joel Osteen. He was in his on million dollar world. It's sad people had to call him out before he even opened his doors and help.

Now, I try not to talk about many things like this, but I am not in shock he did this. He has always been a snake in the grass. I have no idea how he manages to have so many followers. But whatever. I'm glad he got the stick out of his butt and helped. Hopefully it doesn't backfire on those in need. Knowing him though a picture might end up crooked and he sue the person who just lost their home and family for billions of dollars.

Okay, I'm done with that. Lets talk books! I'm not trying to brush Texas off, I swear. But if I keep on, I'm just gonna keep getting more and more mad. All I can offer is my prayers right now, Texas, you WILL pull through this.




It's is that time of year when people see a leaf on the ground and scream "FALL!!!!"
.....I am one of those people. Lol Even if leaves don't fall here. In fact, we don't even have fall. One day it's 120 degrees and the next, it's 70 degrees. There lies our winter. Lol We don't really have Spring and Fall and we only get about 2 weeks of "winter" hahahaha maybe it'll be different this year. I wish it would snow and stick. *loving magical eyes*


I said I would talk about books didn't I.... Guess my mind is else where because I have no idea Lol

How many of you have seen all the "Halloween" books out already? I HAVE!!! And I couldn't help myself. I saw some on Netgalley and snagged a few.... I regret it. I am currently reading Halloween Carnival VOL 1 (which I will be done with soon after I post this) but it has all these Halloween short stories in it and the cover looks super creepy. I am on the last story and I am honestly upset. The first two stories were just so heart shattering sad!! They had me in tears! And the rest are just "eh".
I was hoping for a thrill dang it! I want to feel the season rolling in! This book did not do it. I wouldn't really recommend this book if you are looking for a thrill. What I would recommend are those creepy short stories from the freaking 90's. I remember growing up reading them from the library and having nightmares for days after. Lol

Has anyone else noticed that? The 90s were pretty much when everything ended. Everything "scary" has already been done. Yeah some remakes scare the mess out of me, but others make me roll my eyes so hard, I fear they will get stuck.

Anywho -
What are your "creepy" reads this Fall/Halloween? 

Please say someone will answer this, because I need some reads. I know I am behind on a LOT of "new" books but I really would like to read some scary books this year.

The last scary book I read was honestly The Sleepwalkers by J. Gabriel Gates and that was way back in 2014. Lol



So what books y'all got? If you don't have any, what are you at least looking forward to this fall? Lol

Tuesday, August 22, 2017

Arena by Holly Jennings

Synopsis
Title: Arena
Series: Arena #1
Author: Holly Jennings
Genre: Young Adult/Science Fiction
My Rating: 2/5
Add To: Goodreads

Every week, Kali Ling fights to the death on national TV. She's died hundreds of times. And it never gets easier...
The RAGE tournaments the Virtual Gaming League's elite competition where the best gamers in the world compete in a fight to the digital death. Every kill is broadcast to millions. Every player leads a life of ultimate fame, responsible only for entertaining the masses.
And though their weapons and armor are digital, the pain is real.
Chosen to be the first female captain in RAGE tournament history, Kali Ling is at the top of the world until one of her teammates overdoses. Now she s stuck trying to work with a hostile new teammate who s far more distracting than he should be.
Between internal tensions and external pressures, Kali is on the brink of breaking. To change her life, she ll need to change the game. And the only way to revolutionize an industry as shadowy as the VGL is to fight from the inside


My Thoughts
★★ Star
I received this book in return for an honest review.

(sigh) I really wanted to like this book. I really did. It honestly took me FOREVER to finish. As much as I hate to say it, it just wasn't my thing.

I really thought Arena would be like the Hunger Games or even Divergent, that's what made me jump at the chance to get to read this - it was not. So that was a major let down for me.
As soon as you start reading, it's like you are instantly overwhelmed with to many characters and information dump. Oh. and excessive drug use. Yay. (sarcasm)

I felt like Arena was forced and trying to hard to be something it wasn't. Or maybe it was just because I wasn't into it. Either way, I had to force my way through it.

I'm sorry I just wasn't a fan of this one.

Friday, August 11, 2017

Dream Me by Kathryn Berla

Synopsis

Title: Dream Me
Author: Kathryn Berla
Genre: Young Adult/Contemporary
My Rating: 3/5
Add To: Goodreads

Zat is a dreamer from the distant future—a time when humans no longer dream and Earth is a desolate wasteland. He dreams of the beautiful Earth of the past, and a fiery-haired beauty named Babe. Against the wisdom of his peers, Zat decides to risk everything to travel back in time and live in Babe’s dreams…
Babe is the perpetual new girl in town. Her father's job frequently moves the family around the country, and Babe just longs for a place to call home. As she settles into the sleepy town of Sugar Dunes, Florida, Babe begins to have strange dreams of a green-eyed boy named Zat. Night after night, Babe shows Zat her world. But the dreams come at the cost of nearly crippling migraines every morning. Babe’s life outside of her dreams pales in comparison to her growing love for Zat and their time spent together.
But the more time Babe and Zat spend together in her dreams, the more Babe’s pain increases, and Zat begins to question the reality of his existence. How can he live a life with Babe, when all they have is her dreams?
Can a dream become a reality?



My Thoughts
★★★ Star
I received this book in return for an honest review.

The ending alone is worth a extra star on it's own.
It's what saved it from being two stars for me.

I liked this book, I really did. It has a ton of potential. But I just felt like their was a lot of things missing. 
What really got me was this was suppose to be a sci-fi book (not really a fan of those but I admit, the blurb really drew me in to this book) but there really wasn't anything sci-fi about it.... It was more like paranormal/supernatural. 

Babe is new to town and starts dreaming of Zeb(?) Zed? Something like that ... they are both from earth yet... not? It's weird and confusing to me. I could go more into it but I don't want to ruin the book for anyone. Because it would be loaded with spoilers. 

I had a lot of issues with this book though, sadly. I get she is new to the south, but for the 2 examples I am about to provide, you can understand why I rolled my eyes so hard
"Fire ant? What kind of strange creature was that?" Page 24
"It occurred to me that maybe women didn't shake hands in this part of the world." Page 77

How does a person not know what a fire ant is or that women shake hands? "In this part of the world" Are. You. Serious.
We talk different, we are not from another freaking world. Also was not a fan of how the southerners were made to talk like they were ignorant. We would most likely say "y'all" before "yew". Just saying. I get most people may think "Well that is how Cajuns talk." ...... no, baby. No. They don't. 

Loved how the main character was a vegetarian and started shoveling in meat. (That was sarcasm) Sorry. That is not how it works. She reminded me of those hipsters that say they are something just to "fit in" .... Guess I can understand that since she just came from Cali? I don't know. 

I think the deal breaker for me was the sexual assault. Because it happened more than once, and when she took her anger (I saw it as anger, but whatever) out - she was told to leave work for a week. Then assault happens and finally they tell the guy to leave, but again- no one presses charges. Are you kidding me?! The next girl may not be so lucky of it being a forced kiss and ass grab. (No, I don't mean she was lucky that happened to her, I am just saying, the next time - BECAUSE THERE IS ALWAYS A NEXT TIME the next girl won't have that happen, she will most likely be raped.) what about previous victims. You know there have to be. She can't be his first. 
Ugh! It just turns my freaking stomach and pisses me off! 

Also, how she claims Mia as her best friend but makes fun if her last name every chance she gets. Yeah no. That got old quick. 

I know I said I liked this book, I did. Those were just some issues I had with it. The story line was a good idea. I think it would make a great story. But I felt like we only saw the middle of the book. We weren't given much to work with and what we had didn't really matter.... if that makes sense. 

Monday, August 7, 2017

The Funeral Flower by Michelle Jester

Synopsis

Title: The Funeral Flower
Author: Michelle Jester
Genre: Young Adult/Contemporary
My Rating: 3/5
Add To: Goodreads


Devastated by the death of her grandfather, six-year-old Kelly Rodgers barely manages to cope with the profound loss. Already facing issues at school, she finds herself spiraling deeper into despair, when a fateful interaction through the fence in her backyard gives her hope. In the years following, Kelly realizes that life’s tragedies can be dealt with through acceptance; until another series of agonizing events leaves her heart in pieces.
Finding herself thrown into new surroundings, Kelly embraces her life and resolves to never fall in love. That decision is easy to keep until her junior year when she is drawn by an unavoidable attraction to the new guy, tormented James Delaney. The moment he looks up at her and smiles, her body betrays her. And he notices. She is determined to avoid him, but soon Kelly is forced to face the inevitable truth: She doesn’t want to avoid James... and he won’t let her.
Even though tragedy always follows love.
--
Due to critical subject matter recommended for Ages 17+





My Thoughts
★★★ Star
I received this book in return for an honest review.

This book has the ability to grab your attention and keep you reading... even if you aren't enjoying it all that much. the writing was amazing and I think it also keeps you wondering if justice will ever be served. It took all I had to not flip to the end of the book to find out. Lol

The cover and the story line just sucked me in. I couldn't wait to read it and I didn't want to put it down once I started. It's not often you come across a book that pisses you off so much but you actually WANT to keep reading. Lol

I wanted so much justice for the main character in this book. She was done so wrong but literally everyone. Her parents stayed checked out, she was betrayed by friends, the bad boy was exactly what his title is-bad. I think the only person who didn't screw her over was her childhood -fence- friend. Lol

I'm sad to say, the bad outweighed the good of this book for me. 
When she got older, she was finally on a great path getting her life together and she was gonna do so much with her life. I mean, you could just see it. But then in strolls a boy. But not just any boy. THE boy. The one who derails any train that comes in contact with him. The boy who is so possessive, it is borderline abusive. 

I HATED that she fell for him. I really did. 

SPOILERS AHEAD!!!!
I think the breaking point with me over the book was the abortion. I'm against abortion 100% - though I tried really really hard to not let my thoughts take over and affect my judgment on this book.....it did. So I am sorry. It's so jacked up that literally only 2 people would have helped. 2 people who told her to keep it. Even sadder that those two people weren't even her parents. But am I shocked? Heck no. That is about the most they have talked to her in this whole freaking book because they don't care. So many excuses were made as to why they are this way, but I call bullshit because - well... the start of the book for example. How low do you have to be to continue to allow your child to go to a school where she comes home DAILY with fresh bruises? yeah, I know - her mother tried to help. Once. Once that we are told about but nothing happened. Sorry but if you were ever a caring mother, you would be raising all kinds of hell. Not to mention after the death of her grandfather the main character goes into a deep depression. Do the parents try to talk to her? Nope. She needs "therapy" *dramatic eyeroll* Because they would rather pay someone thousands of dollars than sit and talk to her themselves. That is just me though. 

I wish this book had ended differently. I don't think I have ever read a book and wanted a different ending. Well, maybe except TFIOS, I wish everyone could have lived happily ever after but... you get what I mean. Lol I think this book sets a bit of a bad example. Get pregnant - abort it. have a choice between a good guy and borderline abusive boyfriend - go for the abusive one. 

There was a lot of talk about God in this book, which I didn't mind. It was when they wanted to blame Him for everything that ever went wrong. Which is about right I guess. Lol.

I did like the forgiveness concept though. That was a breath of fresh air. Close to the end, I did start to like the book. A lot. until "bad boy" made his way back on scene. So she let good guy go and went running back into the other guys arms. 

I expected more from this book though to be honest. I may reread this at a later time and see if my thought changes at all. Because who knows. Sometimes you read and miss things because you are so fixated on one part that you miss something else. Who knows. Till this.... this is where I stand.

Thursday, August 3, 2017

Thrusty Thursday

Yes. THRUSTY Thursday. This is a one time thing hopefully. Lol. Because life is thrusting me all over the place.

I'm so sorry I haven't posted any updates or anything bookish. I am in the middle of moving. 

Wow that's last second! You say. 

Ain't that the truth! It really was. But it was a important decision that needed to be made. 
It might be at least a week before I can get back into everything but I really hope y'all stick with me on this.

On the plus side, my birthday is in 4 days!! Not sure how I feel about getting old. Haha just kidding. But yeah.

I want to thank everyone for sticking with me this far and being supportive. That kind y'all so much! It really means a lot!!

Hang in there just a little bit longer!


But what I really want to know is how is everyone? What have you done this summer? Let's chat! Tell me something. Anything. Lol

Monday, July 24, 2017

Shattered by Jennifer Skogen

Synopsis

Title: Shattered
Author: Jennifer Skogen
Genre: Young Adult/Contemporary
My Rating: 5/5
Add To: Goodreads

After the tragic loss of her mother, fifteen-year-old Natalie isn't sure how to move on with her life. She and her brother are sent to stay with family friend Joan--and her son, Adam--at a small, remote cabin. Natalie is sure this is going to be the worst spring break ever. Through a twist of fate, Natalie and Adam are left alone at the cabin . . . But when a raging storm hits and a falling tree destroys the cabin, Natalie and Adam must figure out how to survive. Shattered is from Survive, an EPIC Press series.



My Thoughts
★★★★★++ Star
I received this book in return for an honest review.

This was a fast short read that reaches out from the pages and just sucks you in.

I have read other books by Jennifer Skogen and I enjoyed them a lot, so when she offered me a chance to read this book, you best bet, I jumped quick at the chance. She did not disappoint. In fact, she blew it completely out of the water. Not only because this book was simply amazing, it was so different from anything else I have read by her. 

I must say, with most contemporary books, you are automatically hit with "insta-love" - it's like some unwritten rule that every author MUST punch you in the face with it in the first 5 pages otherwise your book will just be crap, I guess. (Yes, I do realize I exaggerated a little there, whatever. Move along) 
ANYWAY - I am so glad this book didn't have that! I felt like standing up and doing a cheer when the (eventually) love interest showed up and they weren't automatically sticking their tongues down each other's throats *que up stadium cheer*
What she did do, was ease you in to it. Like there were hints but it left you wondering "Will they or won't they?" 
BABY STEPS, PEOPLE! BABY STEPS! 
Of course when you do trip and fall into those feels, ain't not way in hell you are getting up out of them. Lol You're gonna lay there like "oo... this is kinda nice"

Haha

I really loved this story though. Really and truly. At first I really didn't like the main character. I thought she was snobby and "me me me" but I ended up loving her. I mean she lost her mom. No one is the same after losing a loved one. Everyone changes. Everyone. 

The emotions in this book were so real. I have no other way of putting it. I don't think there is another way of putting it really. I stated earlier that this book reaches out and pulls you in and that is what it does. You feel like you ARE the main character. Every emotion to every physical feeling she had, I felt them all. Nearly drowning is not a good sensation. Lemme tell ya. Lol 

Another plus was how freaking CLEAN this book was. I don't think I have ever read a YA book that was ever this clean. IT'S AMAZING!!!! (See other authors, it's doable! And still realistic!) 

This is a perfect read for any age in my opinion.

Sunday, July 23, 2017

Rowan Wood Legends by Olivia Wildenstein

Synopsis

Title: Rowan Wood Legends
Series: The Lost Clan #2
Author: Olivia Wildenstein
Genre: Young Adult/Fantasy/Fae
My Rating: 5/5
Add To: Goodreads


SOME LEGENDS ARE BETTER LEFT UNTOLD.
I wasn’t the sort of girl who believed in fairytales, let alone tales about faeries. But that changed the day Faeries came to my small town and Hunters rose from their graves.
On that fateful day, I received a book, a peculiar collection of myths and legends. Turns out it was so much more than stories. And just as I was on the verge of unlocking its secrets, it was stolen from me by someone I called a friend.
Now, I don’t know whom I can turn to, whom I can trust. All I know is that there are two sides, and I am straddling the great divide because I am both Faerie and Hunter. And although I swore I would never choose, I am slowly falling for one of those sides…




My Thoughts
★★★★★++ Star
I received this book in return for an honest review.

When a forest hushes, danger rushes.


I CAN NOT GET A HANDLE ON MY EMOTIONS!!!!
I'm not even kidding. I finished this book last night and I'm still sitting here like "please say I didn't finish it. Tell me all that didn't happen."

So, Rowan Wood Legends picks up right where book one left off - but it had been so long since I read book one, I had to kinda relearn a few things. Not that that was a bad thing, it just made me kinda mad at myself that I didn't remembered what I needed to, especially since I love it so much. anyway, I really didn't expect this book to take off the way I did! Like HOLY CRAP! I really thought book one was magical... Man it doesn't have anything on this book. This book will blow you away. It is so rare for a author to out-best their first book (not being mean, just being honest) but Olivia Wildenstein has absolutely no problem proving that wrong.

Rowan Wood Legends is a rich, knuckle-biting, mind-blowing book that will leave you begging for more. It will make you change your mind about every single character. It flip you upside down and make you question every thought you have had.

Trust will be tested. People will be betrayed. Family will be questioned. You'll find out who your real friends are.

Ugh! Part of me wants to say so much because one character just makes me hate him so freaking much, I just want to throat punch him! I already didn't like him in book one because he "came back" - but by the end of book one, I was actually starting to like him.... Which makes me hate him even more by how book two rolled out. Like oh my gosh are you freaking for real!? And the guy I didn't like in book one, I'm starting to like now. I'm a mess. This is a mess. I told y'all I can't get a handle on my emotions.

Forget what you THINK you know because chances are, it will be flipped upside down and shaken to death like a empty bottle of ketchup.

Prepare for one hell of a emotional ride. It will leave you wanting more and demanding answers.

-

I gotta say, Cat's pimp hand was strong in this book. Lol She was slapping the hell out of people left and right, which I LOVE! It was so amazing so see her stand her ground. I would love to see her fight back more though. I really hope she rips Stella apart.... literally. And I really wouldn't mind seeing her throat punch Kajika a few hundred times. Yeah, I get he is from a different time, but I really hate his guts. He makes my skin crawl now.


I'm really wonder how much Cat can take before she says "Screw you all" and either helps no one or she goes crazy and goes on a killing spree of both sides.

Wednesday, July 19, 2017

{Waiting On Wednesday} Fear Street Zombie Style

Greetings Ghosts and Ghouls!
Ya know, of all my years of blogging I've seen "Waiting on Wednesday" posts by other bloggers and I always thought "That looks like fun! I should do this."

Its okay - you can laugh. I'm laughing. 

Why? Because all I can think is that SpongeBob narrator's voice saying "858 years later" followed by me going "oh yeah, I was suppose to do this. Wednesday is tomorrow right? Yeah no. Lol I either miss it by a day or remember it three days to soon and always forget it on the actual day. So YAAAY!! I remembered it for once. Lol

Now I'm sitting here like wow... I've never gotten this far. What AM I waiting on? 

I literally can't think of any except 
Rowan Wood Legends by Olivia Wildenstein. I feel like I've been waiting a lifetime for this book! I literally just got the ARC so I still can't wait to read it. Lol *que up ultimate fangirl mode* 

The cover makes me so giddy! It's so freaking beautiful (just like book one!) both should totally be made into posters. Lol

Other than this, I'm not sure what other books I'm waiting on. Watch  - after I post this books will start scrolling though my brain like a computer window. Lol

What books are YOU waiting on? 


*image from Google - props to whoever made it*

Monday, July 17, 2017

Lets Play A Game - Liebster Awards

I was nominated by the awesome and beautiful Esther of BiteIntoBooks (Thank you so much!) I'm so excited! Can't wait to get this shindig started! YYEEEEEHOOOO!!!
Also: If you didn't know; The Liebster Awards is a way for bloggers to discover other blogs and nominate blogs that have under 200 readers.




Here are the rules:

1. Thank the person who nominated you.
2. Answer the 11 questions given to you.
3. Nominate 11 other blogs and give them 11 questions to answer on their post.

May the odds be ever in your favor!


1. What's your favorite genre to read and why?
Young Adult hands down. It is rare I ever read anything outside of YA. the why is simple. In every adult book you read, what is something that is abundant and in 99.8% of the books? Sex and cussing. I can never help but to get annoyed and say "You CAN have a story line without the sex and over use of cussing."
Sure, SOME YA has it's "sexual tension" but at least your not reading full frontal where his tongue is flicking and ding-dong is ditching.

Other than that, YA is actually believable. Even reading about fae or werewolves. It's believable. For some reason, in adult book, those just make me roll my eyes. Then again, those "creatures" 10 times out of 10 are horn-dog sexual objects. -gag.

2. What's the best book you've read in 2017? (You can only pick one!)
My brain just imploded. One? *falls to knees dramatically with my fists in the air* Whyyyy?!?!?!?
Yeah, no. Haha It's definitely Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon.
This year has been really tough for me with books, I haven't given many books above 3 stars this year but I was in a reading slump when I picked up Everything Everything and thought "Eh, might as well see what the big deal is about this thing." I was hooked from page one. I wanted to reread it as soon as I finished it, that is how awesome it was. You can read my review HERE.


3. Is there a writer that totally blew you away with a book? Who is it?
This is a tougher question than best book. Lol When you say "blew away" do you mean in a good way or a bad way? Because if it's bad way -get your pitchforks and hate ready- I would have to say without a doubt John Green. Shocking right? Especially if you know me and know how much I loved TFIOS. But the thing is, I read that book - Abundance of Katherine's or something like that, and I barely made a dent before labeling it DNF from how horrible it was. Not just the story line but the characters. You can read my review HERE.
But if you want to know who blew me away in a good way... I have no answer. There are so many great authors out there who's name deserves to be on this list. But I will tell you what, instead of listing some popular authors, I'll list some Indie/Self publishing/New authors and you can see if you want to check them out.
Olivia Wildenstein
Quinn Loftis
Pembroke Sinclair

There are honestly a lot more I could post but I would be here all day doing that. Lol

4. What's your opinion on e-readers? Some people prefer physical books and some people love their e-reader, what do you think?
I love E-readers. when they first came out I was against them. I was one of the many "real books have pages!" stuff. Lol but I think eventually any true avid reader will break down and get a e-reader. Because we can't handle or fathom the thought of not having a book with us. Pretty sure most of us will say "bury me with this book... and that book.... aaand that book. Don't forget that book as well. Bury me with all my books. Library. You know what... just bury me under the library or scatter my ashes in there very morbidly" hahahah you get what I mean. XD

Don't get me wrong, I love physical books. I would prefer them over the e-book if I can afford it. But I think it is good to mix it up. Read some of each so you don't burn out so fast.


5. Is there a genre that you don't enjoy and why?
*see answer to number one*  Other than just plain adult, I'm honestly not big on Science Fiction, Non-Fiction, or Contemporary. Though, from time to time I will read contemporary. Doesn't mean it gets good ratings from me. Unless it is awesome like Everything Everything. Lol


6. What is the most positive experience for you because of being a Bookblogger?
The most positive thing would be all the great authors and fellow book lovers I have met. Sure there have been some bad seeds, but in the long run it is worth it. So to those who are new to the book-blogging game - don't give up. Times will get REALLY hard. You WILL question why you bother doing it. But try not to let it get you down. Do it for you and your fellow book lovers. :)


7. Do you have bookshelves? How do you organize them? *insert picture*
You WOULD ask for a picture of my bookshelves when my room is destroyed. Lol
I have 3 bookshelves that are all different sizes. Lol I tend to arrange mine tallest to smallest on each shelf. But I also try to keep all my series together. I put my most favorite books on the top self, and my least favorite on the very bottom. so it's tall to short, most favorite to least favorite. Least that is how I use to have it. Now they are all on the floor stacked in sizes against the wall. Hardback with Hardback and paperback with paperback. Lol Not sure how I will arrange them this time. But I will try to get a picture when I finish.....347,239,495,148 years from now. <_< >_>  When I'm not *cough-lazy-cough*


8. Paperback or Hardcover?
Both but if I could afford it, I would always get hardback. They are always tougher unlike a paperback where if you look at it wrong, the covers curl and the spine cracks. Lol


9. Would you one day want to write a book? Why or why not?
I would love to write a book someday. I actually have one started but can honestly never get past page one. Though right now, the reason I have stopped is because my laptop fried. I lost all my work and don't really want to work on it again until I am able to get a new one.
It's amazing how much you can get let go when you are writing a book. You can have so much stress on you but when you write, it's like it all melts away. Weird, but true.


10. What's your favorite book character of all times?
Katniss-freaking-Everdeen. I know a lot of people hate her and I honestly do not know why! She is so badass! Excuse my french but she is! There is no other way to describe her. I would give just about anything to be like her. She is so brave and strong. Lets be real here. If the world did go to crap, as it is already. If we were dropped in her situation - we would probably starve to death....or worse. But she adapted ya know. I mean yeah - she was born into it, she wasn't dropped into it. But she went out and made things happen. She fed and protected her family. I could go on and on about it but given if you READ the books, not just watched the movies, you'd know why she's so awesome.

11. If you could visit a world from a book, where would you go?
There are so many worlds I would love to go. Including the library in Beast's castle. And I would love to hang out with Maleficent. Lol But really... I would love to go to Hogwarts. I'm pretty sure a lot of people would say the same. But I mean.. who wouldn't want to go? The wizard world has a place for everyone. Everyone has friends there. No matter how rich and mean you are or how sweet and poor you are... you have a place with friends. I don't know. Their world just seems better than ours. Lol

Nominations:
Morrighan: Elysian Fields Book Reviews
Kat: Livin The Fandom Life
Angelena: Stars and Sonder
Kristie: Bookwormkristie
*I honestly don't know 11 full blogs right now because most of the others I would have tagged are MIA; so if you see this, feel free to nominate yourself!*
To those I have nominated, lets play a game. 
Below there are 11 questions. the device at your fingertips will help you answer these questions. You have a choice. Answer the 11 question and tag others to keep this award going.... or.... ignore this award and watch it die. Which will you choose? Choose wisely..... Let the games begin.

Questions:
1. What are your thoughts on people ripping/tearing/burning/painting book pages to make "art"?

2. What would you do if one of your favorite authors posted or said something against something you stand for? Would you stop reading their books? Or would you continue to read but ignore them?

3. What are your thoughts on authors trying to write books with characters of a different sex and age? Are you for them? Or do you think they should stick to what they know in their own sex?

4. What is the best book to movie adaption you have ever seen? Why?

5. Think of the genre you can't stand. What is one book you would possibly be willing to read from it and why?

6. What is your take on Mental Illness in books? What is one book that portrayed Mental Illness correctly in your point of view? Which did not?

7. Do you judge a book by it's cover? If so, what is a ugly cover that turned out to be a amazing book? What is one that had a beautiful cover that had a horrible story?

8. Insta-loves. What are your thoughts on them? If you are against them, what is at least one occasion you didn't mind reading about it?

9. What series do you wish would never end? If it already has, would you change the ending? Why?

10. What is your number one book pet peeve?

11. What would you want to tell new bloggers that you wish you knew when you started?