Wednesday, November 29, 2017

The Gnome Exchange Program: North Pole Rescue by Matt Caliri

Synopsis

Title: The Gnome Exchange Program: North Pole Rescue
Author: Matt Caliri
Pages: 261
Published: October 10th 2017
Publisher: Sweetwater Books
Genre: Young Adult/Middle Grade/Fantasy
My Rating: 4/5
Add To: Goodreads

There's only one person who can save Christmas this year, and it's not Santa Clause. This year the fate of everyone's favorite holiday rests solely in the hands of a twelve-year-old gnome named Geronimo. Luckily, Geronimo is no ordinary gnome. With his wits and daring, he should have absolutely no trouble tracking down the evil Krampus and bringing him back to the North Pole. . . 



My Thoughts
★★★★ Stars
I received this book in return for a honest review.

The problem, Dad," he said. "is that good always wins. You're going to lose this battle.


You have no idea how thankful I am that I got to read this book! 
It was so stinkin' cute! 
Okay, some of the characters really ... really ... really got on my nerves. Yet in the long run, they ended up wiggling their way into my heart. Lol

It's really no secret that I have a crazy obsession with Krampus. Weird, I know, but I do. Anyone who knows me knows I watch the movie Krampus all year around, nearly daily. 
So when I read the blurb and it mentioned "Santa's brother" I honestly thought "no way! This book looks way to cute to involve Krampus!" I was wrong. Not only was I wrong, I had such a stuck image of him in my head that when I read Matt's description, my jaw dropped and I couldn't help but chuckle and think "this is going to be awesome." Haha I was right though. It really was awesome. 

There was such a mix of characters that it will amaze you. I'm so use to books only offering 2 or 3 types of characters. But in The Gnome Exchange Program you have gnomes, elves, unicorns, invisible goats, humans, Guinea Pigs! lol so much more. 

Okay so it wasn't ALL cute. Don't get your knickers in a twist thinking it was all fluff and buttercup. Krampus is creepy as *bleep* so of course it can't be all butterbeer and pumkinjuice. Lol

This book was hard to quit. What I mean by that is I could have finished this all in a single day. But I wanted it to last as long as possible so when I could, I forced myself to put this book down. I knew if I read it all at once, I would be heartbroken in the end because it would be over so fast. Guess what! Still heartbroke. I NEED MORE! Lol


Now, I see what you're thinking. But Ash, you loved it so much yet you only gave it four stars.
why? 
Ehh yeah. Mainly because I wanted more Krampus and for him to eat everyone. 
I'm. Totally. Kidding. 
But really though, some of it felt really rushed. Around the time the Guinea pigs were introduced it got a bit blurry because there were so many and they were hard to keep up with. I still don't know who is who. :/
And it tended to jump a bit. Maybe I was reading to fast or something, that could be it. But it had some huge leaps that left me going "wait. What just happened and how did you get there aaaaand who are you again?" The ending left me with a lot of questions as well. If they went back in time to return her to a few hours after she was taken, how is it the little boy could remember how long she had been gone (I know the calendar; but wouldn't he forget why he marked those days?) and why was Krampus going to where he was going. What does he have up his tattered sleeves?

I need to know! I need more! Lol

Sunday, November 5, 2017

{Wrap-Up} Pumpkin Spice Style

Yo-ho and hello there! It's your one and only FearStreetZombie coming to you not-so-live from her living room with her Frankensweenie laptop. Lol Don't ask, I will fill you in later if you are really interested in that story.

Now for what you've all been waiting for - and is coming to you oh so late!

My October Wrap Up!
Better late than never, right?


Mary: The Summoning by Hillary Monahan
Review can be found: Here
Rating: 3 Stars

I liked it mainly because it fed my Bloody Mary obsession. It was the perfect "Halloween" read. While I did have a few issues with it, I still ended up buying book two. Which is still in my to-be-read pile. Whoops! lol





Hotel for the Lost (Hotel Ruby) by Suzanne Young
Review can be found: Here
Rating: 3 Stars

The Shining meets Ghost Ship meets Rose Red.
That's a mouthful huh? Lol but that's what it reminded me of. It wasn't bad, but it wasn't all that great either. I had really expected more of it and it left me with a lot more questions than answers. Would I say not read it? NO! By all means, read it. It really was a good book. The ending just lacked for me. 



A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Mass
Review can be found: Here
Rating: 5 Stars

I know what you are thinking! "You're just now reading this?!" Well... yeah... pretty much. I got it around the time it came out but it stayed on my to-be-read list for a while. Least until it got semi-popular. Then I tried to read it two or three times and just couldn't get into it.. I'm guessing because the first time was on kindle. The second time was audiotape. But the third time (the charm) was my paperback. I had to skip to chapter five to get into it, but man oh man! chapter five and on, I was HOOKED! I can see why everyone is obsessed with this series. Once I finished it, I automatically ordered book two. Which is on my To-be-read list at the moment. Don't shoot me, I will get to it. Lol. I still need book three.

State of Emergency by Mary Hallberg
Review can be found: Here
Rating: 4 stars

Oh my gosh I loved this book! Zombies and New Orleans! Instant win for me! I was so happy the author asked me to review this book. Especially since it was zombies and New Orleans lol but what really drew me in was the blurb said Dallas defended herself with a freaking pizza cutter. I was like "well heck yeah, count me in. I gotta see how that happens!" (Thinking it was one of those home round pizza cutters - of course it wasn't though. Lol But the book was still AWESOME!!


The Dead House by Dawn Kurtagich
Review can be found: Here
Rating: 3 stars

This book broke my heart. Not because it was sad or anything, just because it was really a let down for me. I expected so much more from it. I have never read anything like this book in my life and it was so awesome. It kept me reading from start to finish. I couldn't put it down but the closer and closer I got to the end, I just knew ...just knew... it wouldn't be what I expected or wanted. It left me with so many questions. I wanted to love this book so much but the ending.... the ending. Yet I don't regret the read because I still liked it and would recommend it. Weird, right?


Drops of Sunshine by Tricia Copeland
Review can be found: Here
Rating: 4 stars

The setting of this book was such a rare read that in that alone earns it many stars. I really loved the characters and the story. There is so much I would love to say about this book but because it was a really short read, I can't say anything for fear of giving to much away. Lol but I will say this. If you have a chance to read it, you should. 



Simply, Jane by Randal Licato
Review can be found: Here
Rating: 5 THOUSAND MILLION ZILLION STARS!!!

I took this book to heart. I have read a lot of Randal's books and love every one of them. But this one. Oh gosh. This one holds my heart between it's pages. My struggles are written on these pages. My battles are alive in these pages. While I relate to every page of this book, I am sure everyone will too. While our endings may be different, I am sure we can all relate to the battle written. This was such a beautiful story I wish everyone would read. If you get a chance, please please please read it! Also, there may be a upcoming giveaway for this book so keep your eyes out for it! I'll keep you posted!
~For more, please read my review.
<hr>
November Upcoming Reads

I have actually already finished two books: Kingdom of Embers by Tricia Copeland and Chromosomes by Ashleigh Reynolds. Both were really good reads and my reviews can be found a little father down my blog. Check them out!

I'm not sure what else I will read this month in all honesty. I will probably finish Tricia Copeland's last two books (Kingdom of Embers was book one) I also really want to finish "How to Find Love In a Bookshop" I started it and it just seems so magical. Starts off sad yet keeps you with a dreamy look in your eyes. I can't wait to finish it. I hope it stays this way. Last but not least, I hope to get to Mist and Fury lol if I don't, don't hate me. It's hard to read lately because I have so much going on and I'm hitting a book slump. Seems to always happen after you're on a roll "slaying one book at a time" lol. I guess it's because you read of some many amazing places and then you look up and realize your stuck in your own world where magical things never happen..... Unless you are rich and live in Disneyland. Haha.

If I could have a power, I would be able to book-jump. Leave this world behind for better places and I could jump into any and all books at will. Lol

What would your power be? What book places do you plan to dive into this month?

Wednesday, November 1, 2017

Chromosomes by Ashleigh Reynolds

Synopsis

Title: Chromosomes
Author: Ashleigh Reynolds
Pages: 209
Published: June 2017
Publisher: Legendary Books
Genre: Young Adult/Supernatural
My Rating: 4/5
Add To: Goodreads

Sweet freedom lasted half a day.
Emma Hill longed for the day when she would be free to live her life. Free from the endless cycle of foster homes. Free from the life that defined her for twelve years. She had a lot of ideas about her new start. None of them involved being the prisoner of a mad scientist.
Emma is kidnapped on her eighteenth birthday and brought to a facility that is run by a man hell-bent on creating monsters. She is thrown together with one of his creations, a young man that is equal parts terrifying and intriguing.
Together, they escape, seeking refuge in a desolate town. But her companion isn’t the only thing that goes bump in the night, and the person running the facility will do anything to get them back.


My Thoughts
★★★★ Stars
I received this book in return for a honest review.

Chromosomes was a really quick and interesting read. 

I really don't think I have read anything quiet like this before. The story line kept me completely sucked in on the edge of my seat. 

The only thing I wasn't to big on was the stockholm syndrome. I try not to use that term because I know when you go through a traumatic experience you tend to bond completely with the person you went through it with. Buuuuut I can't not use it this time because first she was kidnapped then she was stuck with a guy who dang near killed her every time he got mad and still, she fell for him. 

That being said, while I wasn't a fan of that, I really did enjoy the book. Though short, still managed to keep me entertained and made me fall in love with the characters. Seven might have worked my nerves, in the end. He grew on me. Lol

I wanted more to that ending! Lol It was so bittersweet! I LOVED IT!

Kingdom of Embers (Kingdom Journals #1) by Tricia Copeland

Synopsis
Title: Kingdom of Embers
Series: Kingdom Journals #1
Author: Tricia Copeland
Pages: 316
Published: February 2nd 2017
Publisher: True Bird Publishing LLC
Genre: Young Adult/Paranormal/Witches/Vampires
My Rating: 4/5
Add To: Goodreads

As a creature forbidden by both vampire and witch cultures, Alena traverses the country with her mother in search of an unknown entity. When Alena finds Hunter everything changes. Their bond may be the key to answers Alena seeks. As she investigates the connection, an equally handsome, but mysterious suitor appears. Will the truth be uncovered before it is too late? Or will her Mother’s kingdom be reduced to embers?

My Thoughts
★★★★ Stars
I received this book in return for a honest review.

Tricia Copeland is a lull master. Not in a bad way either but in a sense if calm and then literally you blink and all hell has broke loose. Lol

I loved this book. More than I thought I would to be honest because Alena was good. But almost too good. You know the kind,the ones we all roll our eyes at and just "ugh". Lol
But there is more than meets the eye with Alena...and you really don't want to mess with her. If you do, it's your funeral.

Kingdom of Embers starts off kinda slow, that's where that peaceful lull comes in. But it's not boring. Its a perfect balance that keeps you wondering what danger lurks just around the corner.

The only thing I wasn't fond of were the jumps between a lot of chapters. I felt like those were rushed and it left me wanting more from it. Want to know what happened to those days or so in between.

Other than that, this book was so awesome. 

I loved all the character and of course my favorite character would *cough*die*cough* 
*sits in my corner sobbing*
Lol

But really though that ending blew me away. I HAVE TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENS NEXT!!!!

But can we talk about the mom for a moment? Why is so she ominous? There is a story there and I want to know it. And just WHO is Alena's dad?

Ugh I have so many questions!

Monday, October 30, 2017

Simply Jane by Randal Licato

Synopsis

Title: Simply Jane
Author: Randal Licato
Pages: 134
Published: 2017
Genre: Young Adult/Faith
My Rating: 5/5
Add To: Goodreads

Jane lives on the brink of her imagination, where all her sorrows and joy collide in a secluded, mountainous place called, The Life Center.
Escaping her life would be an easy dream to have, if the Shadow Man would just let her go.


My Thoughts
★★★★★ Stars
I received this book in return for a honest review.

"I've been there too, but no matter what you feel or not, don't listen to the lies, for in that room, the truth is skewed to keep you lost. We all break at times, but that brokenness doesn't have to define you. We all get confused or lose hope, but even during those times, your heart is still worth being here."


Simply, Jane is such a inspirational, powerful and memorizing read.

This review is not easy to write because there are just to many things to say that I feel like my brain may backfire trying to put it all into words.

This book was so powerful! I was crying from chapter one to the very end. Not because it's sad but because it was like Randal Licato cracked open my head and made his way into my soul and found all the dark places that my fake smiles hide to show me that God is here. He is helping me even if I don't see him...

Simply Jane was wonderfully written and from the start will keep you swimming through the pages, to where you don't want to lift your eyes even for a second.

I know I keep using the words "powerful" "memorizing" and "wonderful" a lot but that is because it really is.

I wish everyone in the world would take the time to read this book. Men and women. Everyone is Jane. Read this book and I'll bet you will relate to Jane. Our stories may be different but that dark place is all the same in all of us.

This book will open a lot of eyes and hearts.

Personal Note
Personally, I cried because I'm in that dark space. I can't tell you how many times I've cried wishing God would appear and talk to me like in the books I've read.

I know people say God is always with you, read the Bible, He'll talk to you. But the Bible is hard to read for a lot of people. And we are 100% human. We might read it a million times and think "okay, God wants me to do this" but because we are human, we make mistakes. And we always have that self doubt voice talking 24/7. It'd be kinda nice if God had some one on one chats with us. Lol

I cried because this book shows hope. It shows I won't be in this dark place forever as long as I keep going. It shows I'm not alone and that battle going on within me isn't me just going crazy. It's real. And exhausting.

The part in chapter one when she's laying there and God says "Dear, lovely Jane, your heart is worthy to be known. [...]" had me squalling. It hit home. Like maybe God DOES care. That the lies the whispers I hear are just that.... Lies.

On page 89....had me sobbing with the realization that yeah, we take our hits but God takes more hits than we do. He protects us.

Page 90" I don't want to end my life; I just want to escape. " is the story if my life. Through and through.

This book is powerful. Extremely powerful.

Thursday, October 26, 2017

Drops of Sunshine by Tricia Copeland

Synopsis

Title: Drops of Sunshine
Author: Tricia Copeland
Pages: 130
Published: July 13th 2015
Publisher: true bird publishing llc
Genre: Young Adult/Contemporary
My Rating: 4/5
Add To: Goodreads

With a job as a camp counselor, sixteen-year-old Nina heads to the wilderness for summer break. With her year all she wants is an escape. But some special kids can hear her thoughts and she can't hide her head in the sand like she planned. Can Nina come to terms with all her swirling emotions? Sometimes all it takes is a drop of sunshine!


My Thoughts
★★★★ Stars
I received this book in return for a honest review.

This was such a rare read for me.
I admit, I've read tons of YA books-all kinds
But nothing like this before.

I mean, sure it has the typical teenage love interest and drama.

But the camp for the blind/deaf/etc isn't really something you read about. Especially with such detail. It was beautiful to read about and I loved how they all seemed "magical" because they knew things they shouldn't. They were adorable. "down with purple!" lol

This was a warm read. You know that trusty blanket everyone has? The one you can use year round and it never get to cold or to hot in it becauae it is just perfect and it's... Well... Your favorite. Lol that's what this book is. A warm blanket.

I loved the main character of this book. She is so young but is more mature than the adults she works with. That is so rare. Lol. And kinda sad. It's sad they let that bathroom incident happen to her and did nothing to help. It makes me so mad but I guess that's what makes this real. Because it happens to women every single day. It's heart breaking.

I'm glad that in the long run he got in trouble. Sadly it was like a slap on the wrist though. Ugh!!!

Other than that idiot, I lived this book. It was a quick read that makes you dive and swim through it.

Wednesday, October 18, 2017

The Dead House by Dawn Kurtagich

Synopsis

Title: The Dead House
Author: Dawn Kurtagich
Pages: 400
Published: September 15th 2015
Publisher: Little, Brown Books
Genre: Young Adult/Horror/Mystery/Paranormal
My Rating: 3/5
Add To: Goodreads

Three students: dead.
Carly Johnson: vanished without a trace.

Two decades have passed since an inferno swept through Elmbridge High, claiming the lives of three teenagers and causing one student, Carly Johnson, to disappear. The main suspect: Kaitlyn, "the girl of nowhere."
Kaitlyn's diary, discovered in the ruins of Elmbridge High, reveals the thoughts of a disturbed mind. Its charred pages tell a sinister version of events that took place that tragic night, and the girl of nowhere is caught in the center of it all. But many claim Kaitlyn doesn't exist, and in a way, she doesn't - because she is the alter ego of Carly Johnson.
Carly gets the day. Kaitlyn has the night. It's during the night that a mystery surrounding the Dead House unravels and a dark, twisted magic ruins the lives of each student that dares touch it.
Debut author Dawn Kurtagich masterfully weaves together a thrilling and terrifying story using psychiatric reports, witness testimonials, video footage, and the discovered diary - and as the mystery grows, the horrifying truth about what happened that night unfolds.


My Thoughts
★★★ Stars

WTF.
No. Seriously. What the f*ck was that?

Once I started this book, I couldn't - wouldn't put it down. It's kept me sucked in and was so d*mn compelling that I NEEDED to know what was the cause of all of this. Was She crazy? Who did it? Was it paranormal? What is real? What is fake? So many questions. Thought many answers would soon be answered.

Until...

The ending. Not only was there absolutely no answers. It was the most anticlimactic thing I have ever laid my eyes upon. Like soggy d*mn Wheaties cereal or something. 

This whole book is lies! LIES I TELL YOU!!!

It builds and sucks you in and keeps you were... like the freaking dead house and then the end happens and you are left wondering what in the hell your suppose to do with it. I have no WORDS for what I feel about that, honestly. I think facial features covers that, pretty much. 

So because of the ending, it will be 3 stars instead of 5.

I would like to ADD that this book was awesome, the ONLY thing I didn't like was the ending. I thought it could have ended better or at least there would be a book 2 or something. That's just my thoughts on it. I hate cliffhangers. 

Tuesday, October 17, 2017

State of Emergency by Mary Hallberg

Synopsis

Title: State of Emergency
Author: Mary Hallberg
Pages: 158
Published: August 5th 2017
Publisher: Createspace
Genre: Young Adult/Horror/Zombies
My Rating: 4/5
Add To: Goodreads

17-year-old Dallas Langdon is fighting off zombies with a pizza cutter.

Dallas has always loved zombie movies. But when she catches a real live (erm, dead) musician eating a man’s intestines backstage after the show, she knows her movies have become a reality. And what do characters in zombie movies do? Seek shelter. Fortunately, Dallas's eccentric uncle owns a farmhouse in Chattanooga, an eight hour drive from New Orleans. It’s on top of a steep mountain, surrounded by electric fences, and cut off from the worlds of the living and the dead.

Dallas’s parents, still safe at home, laugh at her idea over the phone. Her friends only agree to join her because it’s fall break and they could use a mini vacation anyway.

But then Dallas’s best friend is killed by a zombie horde when they’re attracted to her ringing cell phone. Civilians think their reanimated loved ones simply have the flu, leaving them alive (well, undead) and rapidly increasing the zombies ranks. And since minors can’t buy guns, Dallas’s only weapon is a giant industrial pizza cutter she swipes from a gas station. George A. Romero never mentioned anything like this. With one friend dead and no zombie survival guides to help her, Dallas and her friends must get to Chattanooga before joining the ranks of the undead themselves.
My Thoughts
★★★★ Stars
I received this book in return for a honest review.

New Orleans? Zombies?
How can you possibly go wrong? You can't! 

I just want to put it out there that when I read "17-year-old Dallas Langdon is fighting off zombies with a pizza cutter."
I didn't read anything after that because I was already sold. I HAD to read this book and find out just how that would go down. Lol

Though the pizza cutter I thought of were the round home hand held ones with the handles.... Now I'm pretty sure it's those fancy curved ones. Lol my bad!!! 

I have never read a zombie book quiet like this before. Other books, when zombies attack, no one knows what they are or even uses the word "zombie" most of the time.

The main character (Dallas) knows everything and anything about zombies and wastes no time becoming the "kill first, ask questions later" girl. Even though she's still a teenager, she seems really mature for her age. Which is rare these days. Lol.

I loved the diversity of the zombies. Walkers, runners, even things being zombies you wouldn't have thought possible. Lol

I really enjoyed this book and will probably reread it 100 more times. Lol

But it did have a few issues. There were a few times things would be going smoothly and it suddenly jumps to something else. Leaves me feeling like I missed something.

The other thing is... It left me with a lot of questions but the main one us how do the zombies still have human qualities like the ones at the "office".

I really wish there was a book two but book one ended so well, I don't want that happy bubble to burst. Lol.

Friday, October 13, 2017

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Synopsis

Title: A Court of Thorns and Roses
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses #1
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Pages: 416
Published: May 5th 2015
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Genre: New Adult/Fantasy/Mature YA
My Rating: 5/5
Add To: Goodreads

Feyre's survival rests upon her ability to hunt and kill – the forest where she lives is a cold, bleak place in the long winter months. So when she spots a deer in the forest being pursued by a wolf, she cannot resist fighting it for the flesh. But to do so, she must kill the predator and killing something so precious comes at a price ...

Dragged to a magical kingdom for the murder of a faerie, Feyre discovers that her captor, his face obscured by a jewelled mask, is hiding far more than his piercing green eyes would suggest. Feyre's presence at the court is closely guarded, and as she begins to learn why, her feelings for him turn from hostility to passion and the faerie lands become an even more dangerous place. Feyre must fight to break an ancient curse, or she will lose him forever.

My Thoughts
★★★★★ Stars

I actually finished this day's ago but still am unable to write a complete review because my soul still hasn't returned and my brain is stuck on single words.

Amazing. Yaassss. Yummy. Tamlin. Lucien. Yaassss. Love. Need. Mine. Yaassss. Omg.

Update: 10/13/17

I'm ready to take a shot at putting together full sentences for the love of this book. 

I remember starting this book around the time it came out.... and wanting to put my head through a wall because I hated it. To be fair, it was on kindle - so I think that had a lot to do with it... maybe.

*Fast-forward to a few months ago and hearing non-stop hype over this book* I tried to read it again with audiotape.... Got a headache from hell. 

I decided to try it ONE more time because one of my friends was just head over heels in love and assured me that after the slow beginning, the promise of a magical experience would happen.. okay maybe she didn't use those "EXACT" words - but I am using them because they are freaking true! 

I read the start enough times to know what happened so I skipped to chapter 5, and am so glad I did. I sat down with this beautiful paperback and devoured it like my soul depended on it. 

I still have so many emotions on this book that are so hard to put into words. But I am surely trying. Lol. I thought the writing was magic. Maas has a way of pulling you in and making you feel every ounce of of this story. I admit even the pain of the start, it was boring but you still feel everything. From the hunger to the bitter cold seeping into your bones. 

I loved the diverse characters yet they reminded me so much of something ... or someone but I can't remember what. I fell in love with Lucien and Tam. Couldn't help it. I love Spring Court. and that is saying a lot because I naturally hate spring. Lol I hate Rhy though. But again, I was told when I read book 2, I will love him just as much. But we shall see, won't we. 


If you have read this book - tried to, I mean - After chapter 5,  it starts to pick up and get interesting. 

I love this book and hope I love the rest just as much. 


May or may not add more to this later.

Hotel for the Lost by Suzanne Young

Synopsis

Title: Hotel for the Lost
Original Title: Hotel Ruby
Author: Suzanne Young
Pages: 304
Published: October 4th 2016(first published November 3rd 2015)
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Genre: Young Adult/Horror
My Rating: 3/5
Add To: Goodreads

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Program comes a haunting, romantic, and suspenseful story about one girl’s search for healing in a grand and mysterious hotel full of secrets.
Stay tonight. Stay forever.
When Audrey Casella arrives for an unplanned stay at the grand Hotel Ruby, she’s grateful for the detour. Just months after their mother’s death, Audrey and her brother, Daniel, are on their way to live with their grandmother, dumped on the doorstep of a DNA-matched stranger because their father is drowning in his grief.
Audrey and her family only plan to stay the night, but life in the Ruby can be intoxicating, extending their stay as it provides endless distractions—including handsome guest Elias Lange, who sends Audrey’s pulse racing. However, the hotel proves to be as strange as it is beautiful. Nightly fancy affairs in the ballroom are invitation only, and Audrey seems to be the one guest who doesn’t have an invite. Instead, she joins the hotel staff on the rooftop, catching whispers about the hotel’s dark past.
The more Audrey learns about the new people she’s met, the more her curiosity grows. She’s torn in different directions—the pull of her past with its overwhelming loss, the promise of a future that holds little joy, and an in-between in a place that is so much more than it seems…
And the 13th chapter will only add to the mystery behind the 13th floor of Hotel Ruby...and ultimately, what it means for Audrey.
Welcome to the Ruby.

My Thoughts
★★★ Stars

The Shining meets Ghost Ship meets Rose Red

This was a great Halloween read. I thought it was well written and my love for Audrey is eternal. (kidding.)

But really I loved how spunky and sassy she was when she was mad. Lol. She was such a sweet character until she was rubbed the wrong way.

I loved all the diversity of characters. Though we can all agree we hate that one fella.

I'll say this. It was very predictable. From midway you can see the end coming from a mile away. Yet it keeps you reading because it's just that good and you want to know if you were right or not.

I did like the ending. Though the few chapters leading up to it were a bit slow and boring.

I wish we knew more about Hotel Ruby. We learn what happened there but we aren't really told how the hotel became a living thing.

The only problem I had were the chapter jumps. Each chapter seems to pick up a few hours after the last one ended so it making you have to guess/figure out what happened between.

Other than that it was good. Nor scary or creepy yet still a great Halloween read.

MARY: The Summoning by Hillary Monahan

Synopsis

Title: MARY: The Summoning
Series: Bloody Mary #1
Author: Hillary Monahan
Pages: 245
Published: September 2nd 2014
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
Genre: Young Adult/Horror
My Rating: 3/5
Add To: Goodreads

There is a right way and a wrong way to summon her.
Jess had done the research. Success requires precision: a dark room, a mirror, a candle, salt, and four teenage girls. Each of them--Jess, Shauna, Kitty, and Anna--must link hands, follow the rules . . . and never let go.
A thrilling fear spins around the room the first time Jess calls her name: "Bloody Mary. Bloody Mary. BLOODY MARY." A ripple of terror follows when a shadowy silhouette emerges through the fog, a specter trapped behind the mirror.
Once is not enough, though--at least not for Jess. Mary is called again. And again. But when their summoning circle is broken, Bloody Mary slips through the glass with a taste for revenge on her lips. As the girls struggle to escape Mary's wrath, loyalties are questioned, friendships are torn apart, and lives are forever altered.
A haunting trail of clues leads Shauna on a desperate search to uncover the legacy of Mary Worth. What she finds will change everything, but will it be enough to stop Mary--and Jess--before it's too late?



My Thoughts
★★★ Stars

So...

I've been obsessed with Bloody Mary since I was a little kid. Which I'm sure my obsession is my sister's fault because she was a teen when I was a kid.

This book shows a more modern story which I enjoyed. Mainly because it's RARE for anyone to know about Bloody Mary these days. I honestly thought she (as well as many other legends like Candy Man) died off in the 90s. So it's good to see a legacy live on. Lol

I loved all the diverse characters EXCEPT JESS!! She is the prime image of a two-faced-back-stabbing "friend". I don't know why any of them stayed friends with her when she was nothing but a bully who talked about the other behind their backs. I couldn't help wondering why they didn't realize that as soon as they left, she'd talk about them as well. Smh.

Other than her, the story was great. Until the end. It was anticlimactic. There was so much excitement and then it flopped.

But I still want to get book 2 and find out what happens. I need to know.

If you're a horror fan or a bloody Mary fan I'd say you should try to read this book

Tuesday, September 26, 2017

The Creeps by Fran Krause

Synopsis
Title: The Creeps
Series: Deep Dark Fears Collection #2
Author: Fran Krause
Pages: 144
Published: September 26th 2017
Publisher: Ten Speed Press
Genre: Graphic Novel/Horror/Humor
My Rating: 5/5
Add To: Goodreads

A follow-up to the New York Times best-selling Deep Dark Fears: a second volume of comics based on people’s quirky, spooky, hilarious, and terrifying fears.

Illustrator, animator, teacher, and comic artist Fran Krause has touched a collective nerve with his wildly popular web comic series–and subsequent New York Times best-selling book–Deep Dark Fears. Here he brings readers more of the creepy, funny, and idiosyncratic fears they love illustrated in comic form–such as the fear that your pets will tell other animals all your embarrassing secrets, or that someone uses your house while you’re not home–as well as two longer comic short-stories about ghosts.
My Thoughts
★★★★★ Stars
I received this book in return for a honest review

I just got this book today and I couldn't help myself. I read it the second I got it.
It was a super fast read but memorable. This book will stay with you the rest of your life. 

I didn't know it was book two to a series which is a sad. Now I need to hunt down book one, because I don't want to miss anything. Haha. If it is anything like this, It is worth the read.

I like books like this... Not that I have ever seen a book like this before. I'm just saying if there are others like this, it's good. It shows that any crazy fear you may have, you're not alone. While reading this, I honestly couldn't help thinking that because I was called weird for so long with some of my fears. Now it turns out, I'm not alone. So that is a plus. Lol

I admit, some of these tickled me. I laughed a good bit. Like the parent who told their kid steam was the pig's ghost. Lol I couldn't help but laugh. I mean, who says that to someone? And where in the world did THEY hear it. 

Either way, I absolutely loved this book. I'm amazed how much I loved it really. 

Sunday, September 24, 2017

Love & Gelato by Jenna Evans Welch

Synopsis

Title: Love & Gelato
Author: Jenna Evans Welch
Pages: 389
Published: May 3rd 2016
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Genre: Young Adult/Contemporary
My Rating: 4/5
Add To: Goodreads

I made the wrong choice.

Lina is spending the summer in Tuscany, but she isn’t in the mood for Italy’s famous sunshine and fairy-tale landscape. She’s only there because it was her mother’s dying wish that she get to know her father. But what kind of father isn’t around for sixteen years? All Lina wants to do is get back home.

But then she is given a journal that her mom had kept when she lived in Italy. Suddenly Lina’s uncovering a magical world of secret romances, art, and hidden bakeries. A world that inspires Lina, along with the ever-so-charming Ren, to follow in her mother’s footsteps and unearth a secret that has been kept for far too long. It’s a secret that will change everything she knew about her mother, her father—and even herself.

People come to Italy for love and gelato, someone tells her, but sometimes they discover much more.


My Thoughts
★★★★ Stars

Turns out there's a reason they call it falling in love, because when it happens—really happens—that's exactly how it feels. There's no doing or trying, you just let go and hope that someone's going to be there to catch you.


There are exactly two emotions while reading this book. They are:

and 


This book was so stinkin' cute! I admit for the longest time, I put off getting it because I really thought it would be terrible (because I really don't like contemporary mainly and it just didn't sound that interesting to me.) 

*waits for the angry crowd to quiet down* 

Horrible of me, I know. Happy to let y'all know, I was totally wrong about that. Lol. Everyone I know whether they were on goodreads, Instagram, Facebook, pretty much everyone who had the book long before me, absolutely loved this book. So I broke down and bought it. So. Freaking. Glad. I Did. 

Love & Gelato was beautiful. It's this magical thing (for lack of a better word) that makes you feel like you are really there. You are Lina. Every up and down she goes through just rips at your heart and doesn't let go. There is no possible way you can actually put the book down because .. well... there is just no way. Lol You want to know what happens. You NEED to know. 

Every character is unforgettable. I have never read a book before where I can remember every character big OR little because they made such a impact. 

I only had one single issue with this book and that was the whole Ren and Lina bit at the end. I hated that people all knew he had a girlfriend and they still told Lina to "go for it!" to try to win him. Like he is a prize or something. That just bugs me. The whole "go for it" bit was almost enough to ruin this book for me because you are legit telling her it is okay to flirt/hit-on someone who is already in a relationship. Which made me see Lina as a homewreaker. It turned my stomach. I wanted to stop reading but I am glad it all worked out in the end. But it still doesn't change the fact that these grown-ups were telling her that it was totally okay to pursue him. I can see WHY they did but that still doesn't make it right. 

That was literally the only problem I had with this book. Besides that, it was a gripping, heart tugging, unforgettable ride. I wish I could put my feelings into words about how the ending felt. It was bittersweet. Like seeing a friend off, who is about to start this amazing life. It gives you warm fuzzy feelings but is also kinda sad.

I loved this book. I would recommend it. 

Saturday, September 16, 2017

Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella

Synopsis

Title: Finding Audrey
Author: Sophie Kinsella
Pages: 286
Published: June 9th 2015
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Genre: Young Adult/Contemporary/Mental Illness
My Rating: 4/5
Add To: Goodreads

An anxiety disorder disrupts fourteen-year-old Audrey’s daily life. She has been making slow but steady progress with Dr. Sarah, but when Audrey meets Linus, her brother’s gaming teammate, she is energized. She connects with him. Audrey can talk through her fears with Linus in a way she’s never been able to do with anyone before. As their friendship deepens and her recovery gains momentum, a sweet romantic connection develops, one that helps not just Audrey but also her entire family.

My Thoughts
★★★★ Stars

Eye contact is a big deal. It's the biggest deal. Just the thought makes me feel sick, right down to my core.

I actually finished this book a few days ago but I have still been trying to process my thoughts on this book. The book was great, don't get me wrong. It's just that is was SO great that is the problem. Lol

I don't know what took me so long to read this. I remember seeing it around in a lot of stores and in the library and I always glanced at it but never picked it up. This time, I couldn't help myself and I am glad I got it because, oh my gosh, Finding Audrey is freaking amazing!

I want to say the problem I had with the book is that whatever happened to her wasn't addressed. The reader doesn't know what happened to her so it makes it kinda hard to connect with her. All we know is something REALLY BAD happened and everyone has to tiptoe to not trigger her. But as someone with severe anxiety, I get  why it was written that way. I understand how damaging and dangerous it can be. But on the other hand, I feel like someone who doesn't have anxiety or depression won't understand it so it would be harder for them to connect with her.
I'm really hoping that makes sense. Lol

At some points, I hated all the characters except Frank. On the other hand, I loved them all. Because to me, they all represented some form of mental illness. Though I doubt the author meant for them to be that, that is just how I see them. OCD, Anxiety, Depression, ADHD, Bi-polar.... the works. Lol
And they weren't really ashamed of it. They were just "that" family. And I loved that.

Mental illness is such a sensitive subject. There is so much stigma. So it's always like a breath of fresh air when you read a book that hits the nail on the head that shows it's real. That is does happen. But it's also something you can work with and manage and overcome.

I really loved the ending of this book. I really hope everyone that reads it, finishes it. Because I admit there were times when I wanted to put it down for a while. (Mainly because of the mom and checked out dad) but i literally couldn't put it down. I needed to know how it would end. And the ending did not disappoint. This has got to be one of the most happiest endings I have ever read. Ever.

I would recommend this book.



***IN ADDITION*** 
(possible spoilers, be warned)

Because I know I will get some hate somewhere that she got "better" because of a "boy" and I would just like to say that is only part true. Here is my thought on it.
After what happened to her, I wouldn't doubt she has trust issues with girls. Even with her best friend. I think if Linus had been a girl, Audrey would still be in her din with her glasses on.

Linus was the key to helping her get better. Because her family and therapist couldn't. She said it herself that they were her safe place. So of course they wouldn't push her and if they did, she could easily ignore them or walk away.

At first I despised Linus. Because of all the things he said. I couldn't help but to hate him. But the more he came around, he helped set goals for her and she never had to do them alone. He also made them fun to do. He showed her "I can do it, you can too." and I think that is important to someone with anxiety. And if things went wrong, he helped. And by that, I do mean what he did in Starbucks. that was really awesome of him to do.

That's just my thought on it though.

Saturday, September 9, 2017

Top Ten Clues You're Clueless by Liz Czukas

Synopsis

Title: Top Ten Clues You're Clueless
Author: Liz Czukas
Pages: 304
Published: December 9th 2014
Publisher: Harper Teen
Genre: Young Adult/Contemporary
My Rating: 4/5
Add To: Goodreads

Top Five Things That Are Ruining Chloe’s Day
5) Working the 6:30 a.m. shift at GoodFoods Market
4) Crashing a cart into a customer’s car right in front of her snarky coworker Sammi
3) Trying to rock the “drowned rat” look after being caught in a snowstorm
2) Making zero progress with her crush, Tyson (see #3)
1) Being accused—along with her fellow teenage employees—of stealing upwards of $10,000
Chloe would rather be anywhere than locked in work jail (aka the break room) with five of her coworkers . . . even if one of them is Tyson. But if they can band together to clear their names, what looks like a total disaster might just make Chloe’s list of Top Ten Best Moments.

My Thoughts
★★★★ Stars

Before I can think any more about it, I lean into him and press my lips to his. I kiss him like I actually know what I'm doing. Like I've thrown myself at dozens off guys before - or, better yet, like dozens of them have thrown themselves at me[...]

I found this book at the library and thought "eh why not" - not like I would be FORCED to keep reading if I didn't like it. I really didn't think I would. But surprisingly, I really really liked it. 

Top Ten Clues You're Clueless was a cute and quick read. Though don't get me wrong, it had a few issues. Though I think they are more personal reasons than not. Because I'm sure others could read the same thing and it not bother them at all.

I didn't get the name of the book. It really doesn't seem to fit. But whatever. I mean Green Day had a CD called Dookie. So I guess it's whatever you feel that day, huh? Hahha! Anyway. 

I liked the characters. When it first started, I wasn't so sure about Chloe. But the more I read, the more I really did see her as the typical teenager. She ended up being a really good hearted (is that even a word? If not, sorry.)  person. 

As we read, we find out that Chloe is a diabetic and I was actually getting kinda mad because she always seemed to just brush it off like it was nothing. So at the end when it showed how dangerous it can be I was really happy about that. Not happy it happened but happy it showed that is can be dangerous and you should take good care of yourself. No matter what anyone else may or may not think. 

Another issue I had was around page 95 when she was talking about customers. While it talks about men and woman, when it gets to the mom, it points out that she was white. And I don't understand why. As if any other race would have done anything different. I don't understand why it was important for just her race to be pointed out and everyone else be plain "men" and "women" . She couldn't be just a "mom" she had to be a *white/black/brown/purple/blue/some unimportant detail* mom. 

Other than that, I really did like this book. I loved the divers characters and I love the bond and trials that grew between them. At the end, I really loved how something so bad can cause such a strong friendship bond. It's amazing how you can be around some people -whether it's working or at school and you never really talk to each other or you even have but don't like each other and something happens that draws you together. It's something you can't help but to love. Lol

As for who did it... I didn't see that coming. I thought from the second it happened I knew who did it and my thought NEVER changed till the second that all found out. That was mind blowing.

Mystery Blogger Award

Ello, hello, howdy, and ..well... hi.


As you can pretty much tell I was nominated. But who oh who sweet dearies lit the black flame candle? Hmmm. It really is no secret that I loved being tagged/nominated. Lol. I love doing these things for some reason. Why? I don't know. Maybe because it gives me many reasons to be as random as possible in a normally quite controlled professional setting. Lol. Not today though *runs wild eating cupcakes* - because what is life without cupcakes?! MINE! ALL MINE! ... kidding. you can have one. ONE! Mwahahah.... wait. Oh! Witches. Ghouls. Ghosts. and Totes? I welcome you, the wicked lovely Esther!! Yes! She is the one who nominated me! *happy dance*



For the ones who don't know what the Mystery Blogger Award is;
"Mystery Blogger Award" is an award for amazing bloggers with ingenious posts. Their blog not only captivates; it inspires and motivates. They are one of the best out there, and they deserve every recognition they get. This award is also for bloggers who find fun and inspiration in blogging; and they do it with so much love and passion.
- Okoto Enigma, the creator of this award

Rules


  • Put the award logo/image on your blog
  • List the rules
  • Thank whoever nominated you and provide a link to their blog
  • Mention the creator of the award and provide a link as well
  • Tell your readers 3 things about yourself
  • You have to nominate 10-20 people
  • Notify your nominees by commenting on their blog
  • Ask your nominees any 5 questions of your choice; with one weird or funny question (specify)
  • Share a link to your best post(s)

3 Things About Me


  • I actually prefer questionnaires than someone asking me to tell them about myself. At least with a questionnaire you can tell them things they are actually interested in instead of boring them to death with facts that are really just off the wall things that you think is cool or something. Lol 


  • People often ask why I read mainly Young Adult books - so in case you wonder as well it's because Adult books suck. To me, they do. Because when you read straight fiction or something, it has a never ending flow of cussing and sex. I can't help but to think "It IS possible to keep a reader entertained and hooked without all the cussing and sex." I really wanted to add a Dawson's Creek quote here where Dawson was talking about he doesn't understand everyone's obsession with sex because if it was really important then it would have been in a Spielberg film (I don't know if there were or not, I'm just trying to quote Dawson, not Spielberg).... But I can't find the whole quote but hopefully you get what I mean. Lol


  • I have severe anxiety and depression that it actually affects my memories and causes time loss. It's not fun and it's the hardest thing to explain to someone who doesn't realize that it's actually a thing. that it happens and you have literally zero control over it. It makes you feel like you have no control over your life. 


  • And a random one to grow on - I have a odd obsession with New Orleans (home is where the heart is I guess. Lol) I also have a obsession bookish candles and other bookish things. I want them all! Haha


My Questions from Esther

  • If you could recommend me one book that I would HAVE TO READ one day, which one would it be?

Oh man. That is a tough one. There are literally so many I love. I want to say Rose Petal Graves by Olivia Wildenstein but that isn't always everyone's cup of coffee. So, I would go with the Grey Wolves series by Quin Loftis. Yes. Series. Because if you read book one and like it, you will binge read the rest of the series. Lol I've yet to meet a person who hasn't.


  • What's the last book that made you cry so hard?

Books don't make me cry so when I say The Fault In Our Stars made me cry, I mean I ugly cried for HOURS. Even after I finished the book. I was sobbing so hard my face was purple.
*I want to throw in Rose Petal Graves did make me tear up a bit at one part, does that count? Lol


  • What's the last book that made you laugh so hard?

The Grey Wolves series by Quin Loftis. Hands down. Jen's character will have you rolling.


  • What book/bookseries are you most proud to have on your shelves?

If you mean I have no shame repping them and showing them off proudly - that would be Twilight. I have all the books, the game, the journal, ect. Lol but if you mean just in general I'm proud to have them.... I can't choose. I love all of my books. And I admit, I don't have the most updated books, but I am glad for what I do have. I have been saving so many books for so many years. I've had 90's books like Goosebumps, Sweet Valley High, and Fear Street passed down to me, so they hold a special place. Even if some are falling apart. I love all my books.


  • What's the last book that you DNF?

Probably about to be the one I am reading now (or trying to read) The Sunlight Pilgrims by Jenni Fagan. I received the book in return for a honest review and I always try my hardest to finish the books. But this one, I am still only on chapter two, and it just gives me a headache. It's heartbreaking because it had sounded so promising.

My Nominees
And anyone else who wants to do this. 

My Questions For You

  • What are your thoughts on Booktubes? If you like them, why? If you don't like them, why?
  • If a zombie outbreak happen and you could only have 5 books, what would they be?
  • What are your thoughts about racism in books? Should there be more books about it or do you think there is enough in our own lives?
  • Do you think book merch is important to show how big of a fan you are?
  • If you could give advise to any publishing company out there, what would it be?



My best post(s)
I honestly don't think I have any. If you have a favorite of mine, please let me know. I would love to see if anyone likes any certain post. Lol


Friday, September 1, 2017

Halloween Carnival Volume 1 by Brian James Freeman

Synopsis

Title: Halloween Carnival Volume 1
Series: Halloween Carnival Volume 1
Author: Robert McCammon, Kevin Lucia, John Little, Lisa Morton, Mark Allan Gunnells, Brian James Freeman
Genre: Horror/Short Stories
My Rating: 2/5
Add To: Goodreads

STRANGE CANDY by Robert McCammon
Chocolate bars and sour suckers are trick-or-treat staples, but beware the odd sweet at the bottom of your bag. You never know who it’s from—or what it might do to you.

THE RAGE OF ACHILLES by Kevin Lucia
Father Ward should have heeded the warnings about hearing confession on All Hallow’s Eve. Because a man is about to tell him a secret more haunting than any he has heard before.

DEMON AIR by John R. Little
Fear of flying is not uncommon. But on this transpacific airline, the real danger isn’t the flight itself. It’s whoever—or whatever—is up in the air with you.

LA HACIENDA DE LOS MUERTOS by Lisa Morton
Trick McGrew, former cowboy star of the silver screen, has never believed in tall tales. But down in Mexico, the land of La Llorona, he’s about to find out just how real urban legends can be.

#MAKEHALLOWEENSCARYAGAIN by Mark Allan Gunnells
Some people will go to any lengths to rack up retweets, likes, and follows on social media, no matter who they end up hurting . . . or even killing.



My Thoughts
★★ Star
I received this book in return for an honest review.

This is one of those "I wish I liked it, but I didn't" kind of books. 

I had such high hopes for this book because, it's September, got the whole Fall and Halloween vibe going on late. I was really wanting to kick it off with a creepy scary read. 

And this book failed to do that.... on a massive level. 

the first two stories were okay but hadn't much to do with Halloween. What they really had in common was making me cry my eyes out because they broke my heart into a thousand million pieces. 

Story three just made zero sense. there was no plot, story line, nothing worth even reading. 

The fourth story really just made me roll my eyes... a lot. There wasn't anything special about it. This kind of story has been done by anyone and everyone. I get it's a legend but... eh. Not to mention this story did kinda come off as insulting. After all, who likes the term "Mexican peasant"? But, whatever.

I honestly didn't like how the first four stories were told. I understand they were short stories, but there is a huge difference between short story and rushing to get something done with no actual ending. Don't get me wrong, the last story didn't have much of a ending either but it was still long enough to hook me and honestly, I think it had GREAT potential. The last story is what saved this from being a 1 star book. But yet it wasn't enough to make it a three star book. 

Personally this book wasn't worth my time (harsh, I know but I had such high hopes for it, and it let me down so bad) 

If you are looking for a simple quick - really really quick - read, this is great for you. But if you are looking for a ghostie/horror fix, I'd recommend the older books from the 80s/90s. Lol Y'all know the ones that you would read as a kid and they left you with nightmares for days afterward and a lifetime of childhood trauma? Those. Lol

♫Most wonderful time of the year♫

Okay not really but it's a start right!
IT'S SEPTEMBER!!!!
Finally, right?!

Okay now that that is out of the way, how has everyone been doing? Well I hope! I am so sorry I haven't been posting much. Again, hopefully that changes. I miss posting. I miss you all.. even if you don't miss me, I still miss you, my little zombabies! I dunno. Lol

I want to kick this off with, Texas, y'all are in my prayers! I know this is late and I apologize! I am sorry y'all are having to go through all of this. But never fear! The Cajun Army is there kicking butt and I know they won't let you down. Texas, you have Louisiana's love and prayers!


That eclipse really kicked up some dust into the world's eyes, am I right? No idea what the eclipse looked like, after all, from the awesome vantage points of Louisiana we got a EPIC view..... of a cloud. *sarcastic yaaay* Yep. That's what we saw.

Anywho, after that, floods, hurricanes, fires, earthquakes in places they have no business being just exploded all over. It's heart breaking. But have you noticed all the hate stopped. Even if it was just for a second. Everyone was helping everyone..... Except Joel Osteen. He was in his on million dollar world. It's sad people had to call him out before he even opened his doors and help.

Now, I try not to talk about many things like this, but I am not in shock he did this. He has always been a snake in the grass. I have no idea how he manages to have so many followers. But whatever. I'm glad he got the stick out of his butt and helped. Hopefully it doesn't backfire on those in need. Knowing him though a picture might end up crooked and he sue the person who just lost their home and family for billions of dollars.

Okay, I'm done with that. Lets talk books! I'm not trying to brush Texas off, I swear. But if I keep on, I'm just gonna keep getting more and more mad. All I can offer is my prayers right now, Texas, you WILL pull through this.




It's is that time of year when people see a leaf on the ground and scream "FALL!!!!"
.....I am one of those people. Lol Even if leaves don't fall here. In fact, we don't even have fall. One day it's 120 degrees and the next, it's 70 degrees. There lies our winter. Lol We don't really have Spring and Fall and we only get about 2 weeks of "winter" hahahaha maybe it'll be different this year. I wish it would snow and stick. *loving magical eyes*


I said I would talk about books didn't I.... Guess my mind is else where because I have no idea Lol

How many of you have seen all the "Halloween" books out already? I HAVE!!! And I couldn't help myself. I saw some on Netgalley and snagged a few.... I regret it. I am currently reading Halloween Carnival VOL 1 (which I will be done with soon after I post this) but it has all these Halloween short stories in it and the cover looks super creepy. I am on the last story and I am honestly upset. The first two stories were just so heart shattering sad!! They had me in tears! And the rest are just "eh".
I was hoping for a thrill dang it! I want to feel the season rolling in! This book did not do it. I wouldn't really recommend this book if you are looking for a thrill. What I would recommend are those creepy short stories from the freaking 90's. I remember growing up reading them from the library and having nightmares for days after. Lol

Has anyone else noticed that? The 90s were pretty much when everything ended. Everything "scary" has already been done. Yeah some remakes scare the mess out of me, but others make me roll my eyes so hard, I fear they will get stuck.

Anywho -
What are your "creepy" reads this Fall/Halloween? 

Please say someone will answer this, because I need some reads. I know I am behind on a LOT of "new" books but I really would like to read some scary books this year.

The last scary book I read was honestly The Sleepwalkers by J. Gabriel Gates and that was way back in 2014. Lol



So what books y'all got? If you don't have any, what are you at least looking forward to this fall? Lol

Tuesday, August 22, 2017

Arena by Holly Jennings

Synopsis
Title: Arena
Series: Arena #1
Author: Holly Jennings
Genre: Young Adult/Science Fiction
My Rating: 2/5
Add To: Goodreads

Every week, Kali Ling fights to the death on national TV. She's died hundreds of times. And it never gets easier...
The RAGE tournaments the Virtual Gaming League's elite competition where the best gamers in the world compete in a fight to the digital death. Every kill is broadcast to millions. Every player leads a life of ultimate fame, responsible only for entertaining the masses.
And though their weapons and armor are digital, the pain is real.
Chosen to be the first female captain in RAGE tournament history, Kali Ling is at the top of the world until one of her teammates overdoses. Now she s stuck trying to work with a hostile new teammate who s far more distracting than he should be.
Between internal tensions and external pressures, Kali is on the brink of breaking. To change her life, she ll need to change the game. And the only way to revolutionize an industry as shadowy as the VGL is to fight from the inside


My Thoughts
★★ Star
I received this book in return for an honest review.

(sigh) I really wanted to like this book. I really did. It honestly took me FOREVER to finish. As much as I hate to say it, it just wasn't my thing.

I really thought Arena would be like the Hunger Games or even Divergent, that's what made me jump at the chance to get to read this - it was not. So that was a major let down for me.
As soon as you start reading, it's like you are instantly overwhelmed with to many characters and information dump. Oh. and excessive drug use. Yay. (sarcasm)

I felt like Arena was forced and trying to hard to be something it wasn't. Or maybe it was just because I wasn't into it. Either way, I had to force my way through it.

I'm sorry I just wasn't a fan of this one.