Tuesday, May 23, 2017

No Safety in Numbers (No Safety in Numbers #1) by Dayna Lorentz

Synopsis


Title: No Safety in Numbers
Series: No Safety in Numbers #1
Author: Dayna Lorentz
Genre: Young Adult/Science Fiction/Dystopia
My Rating: 1/5
Add To: Goodreads

When a strange device is discovered in the air ducts of a busy suburban mall, the entire complex is suddenly locked down. No one can leave. No one knows what is going on.
At first, there's the novelty of being stuck in a mega mall with free food and a gift certificate. But with each passing day, it becomes harder to ignore the dwindling supplies, inadequate information, and mounting panic.

Then people start getting sick.
Told from the point of view of two guys and two girls, this is a harrowing look at what can happen under the most desperate of circumstances, when regular people are faced with impossible choices. Some rise to the occasion. Some don't.
And for some - it's too late.


My Thoughts
★ Star

***DNF at 62%***

I can't. I literally can not force myself to finish this book. 171/263 pages in and nothing. Nothing at all happens. No action. No.. anything. Want to know what this book is about? A bunch of people locked in a mall. That is it. You can skip 30 pages at a time and not miss a single thing. 


This whole story was just monotone. It literally put me to sleep. I have never in my life had a book that as soon as I start reading, would knock me right out.

There are a few things that really bugged me about this book, (other than it being boring)

1) The overuse of the term "space suits". This isn't the 60's. Everyone knows a hazmat suit when they see one. 

2) The fact there was a "bomb" and they didn't evacuate the mall. Yeah no. Nowhere would they keep civilians in the store while they mess with a possible bomb. 

3) The fact that the grandmother got sick and was taken back to be "treated" the granddaughter then sneaks in and takes her out to lay in a bed in a home store. No one even looks for granny. Yet anytime someone coughs, they are being swept away to be "treated" yeah, just doesn't make any sense. I would think they would be looking for her.

4) Going off of 3, staying with the Granny topic, after she gets to the store, she's pretty much just left there. Granddaughter is busy hanging out with "friends" so we don't hear about granny after she gets to bed. Again, makes to sense. Especially since her granddaughter was soooooo "worried" about her. You'd think she wouldn't leave her side then. 
Kinda reminds me of Dawn of the Dead, actually. 


Sorry, I would not recommend this book. At all.

Saturday, May 13, 2017

Windfall by Jennifer E. Smith

Synopsis

Title: Windfall
Author: Jennifer E. Smith
Genre: Young Adult/Contemporary
My Rating: 2/5
Add To: Goodreads


Let luck find you. 
Alice doesn’t believe in luck—at least, not the good kind. But she does believe in love, and for some time now, she’s been pining for her best friend, Teddy. On his eighteenth birthday—just when it seems they might be on the brink of something—she buys him a lottery ticket on a lark. To their astonishment, he wins $140 million, and in an instant, everything changes.

At first, it seems like a dream come true, especially since the two of them are no strangers to misfortune. As a kid, Alice won the worst kind of lottery possible when her parents died just over a year apart from each other. And Teddy’s father abandoned his family not long after that, leaving them to grapple with his gambling debts. Through it all, Teddy and Alice have leaned on each other. But now, as they negotiate the ripple effects of Teddy’s newfound wealth, a gulf opens between them. And soon, the money starts to feel like more of a curse than a windfall.

As they try to find their way back to each other, Alice learns more about herself than she ever could have imagined…and about the unexpected ways in which luck and love sometimes intersect.




My Thoughts
★★ Stars
I received this book in return for an honest review. 


When I first came across this book, I fell in love with the cover. It is hands-down beautiful. Then I read the blurb and though how unique it sounded. I mean seriously. I have never came across a book quiet like this. I know it couldn't have been easy to write about someone winning the lottery. I had high hopes for this book

But...the more I read...




It just fell so flat. From start to finish. I kept expecting SOMETHING to happen that would just blow this out of the water and make it so awesome. But, nothing happened.

The characters just about drove me nuts. I mean you have the main character Alice who is miss goody-two-shoes who buys a lottery ticket for a friends 18th birthday as a bit of a gag gift because she doesn't even believe in luck. Turns out, ding-ding-ding, she picked the winning numbers and her friend is suddenly a high roller. Who doesn't even offer her any money until someone ELSE says something about it, then he gets this bug up his butt about how she HAS to take it. Her being goody-two-shoes, doesn't dare take it. Lets be realistic here.... No one in their right minds would turn down money. No offence. But through this book she is just his rug mat but that is totally okay because she is in love with him. So I guess that makes being a mat okay! .....NOT!

{I want to touch down on the luck thing. That part kinda bugs me. The MC doesn't even believe in luck yet the endless quotes on this book are about letting luck find you. Man, let it find you would be nice,  but I was raised to get off your butt and work for what you want. But I guess in her case, don't believe and you'll get all the luck. Go her.}

Lets talk about this "friend". The one she is in love with and ended up the lucky winner. Possibly the worst kind of guy you could have in your life. The whole time I read this book the ONLY vibe I got from him was the abusive possessive boyfriend vibe. He was a jerk from start to finish and just used her as a rug and gosh forbid she talk to another guy that she works with while volunteering. Ugh.
He reminded me so much of the kid from Blank Check. The one who ended up getting a million dollars and ended up spending it all in like 5-7 days. See, I would expect a child to go on a unnecessary shopping spree. I wouldn't expect an adult to do that. Especially one coming from a one bedroom apartment. I would think he would want to take care of his family, especially his hard working mother but hey! Giving away tons of free shit at high school it much better than helping. It pissed me off so bad because he never gave away anything selflessly. It was always "HEY LOOK AT ME! LOVE ME! I AM RICH! PAY ATTENTION TO ME!"   It's pathetic.

Lets not forget the gay cousin/friend. Who plays the middle ground for both sides. I think this group was a bit cliche honestly.

I really don't know what to say about the story itself. I don't think there is anything really to say. There was nothing and when it ended I just felt empty. Outside the cover, I felt nothing for this story or characters. :/

Sunday, May 7, 2017

Arbiter Blog Tour


Hey everyone! Let's give a warm welcome Jamie Foley author of The Sentinel Trilogy! We are going to start this bad boy off with a few questions as, of course, every tour has and needs. :)


-Why don't you tell us a little bit about yourself.
Howdy! I’m a workaholic marketing specialist/webmaster/graphic artist/indie publisher/author. Apparently that’s a thing…?
I live in central Texas with my Irish cowboy husband, hyperactive toddler, and snuggle-bunny Australian Shepherd. We’re rabid gamers and unashamed nerds.


Whew all that's a mouthful. I don't know how you manage it all. Lol and nothing wrong with being nerdy gamers! How else are people suppose to live? Just kidding!


-What prompted you to start writing?
I knew I loved to create stories since childhood—apparently I won the “storyteller award” in second grade, but not sure if that was for lying. What? I never lie.
But I doubted myself so badly in high school—I was never good at English, and apparently I thought that was a requirement for being a good author. (This is why we have editors, right?) Thus my education and professional path of webmaster.
God had other plans. Even as I was working for a publisher (Thomas Nelson/HarperCollins), He bashed me on the head until I resigned and began full-time writing. It’s been hard work, but His blessings are undeniable, and I couldn’t be happier.



Looks like I could take a lesson or two from you, I was in the same boat. Award and all, but high school hit and it was like "ha! nope." Lol it's really awesome you've had those behind you, helping push you. :)


-So, tell us... Why YA fantasy?
Because that’s what I love to read! And because there was a lack of adventure/action/fantasy when I was growing up. Nowadays the YA section is full of stuff most sheltered kids aren’t allowed to read, and I want to fill that hole. My books are free of sex and cussing, but hopefully just as much fun as the mainstream epics.



Amen to that. We need more books like this!


-What inspired you to write The Sentinel Trilogy?
Oh, lots of things! Each country in the world of Alani is based on some collaboration of Earth cultures or locations I’ve visited and love, or historical time periods, or some awesome fantasy people from another work.
Valinor is loosely based upon the United Kingdom. The people of LaKota are inspired by Scottish clans, Native American tribes, and traditions of early Israel. The island of Malaan is similar in its customs to Imperial Japan. And the deadly forests of Katrosi weren’t fully settled until later in the world’s lifeline, making it similar to America in its melting pot of cultures.
I try to keep my world-building based in historical fact, but ooooh, how much fun it is to scheme! >:3



Sounds like one heck of an adventure without having to go anywhere. I love it! Hahaha


-Which aspects of indie publishing have been the most challenging and most rewarding?
It’s challenging to supply your own funds for crafting a professional work all by yourself, but if you know it’s what you want to do as a career and you save up, you’ll find that most all of the pros out there are happy to work with indie authors. Learning the ropes is tough at first, but boy, is it worth it!
One bonus of indie publishing is that you can be a little more… out there… than some publishers might approve of. Yes, you should definitely hire a professional editor or two, but at the end of the day, you get to make the call when your work is ready for the world to see.
Another reward is when the monetary investment returns and you don’t have to pay any middle-men. But if you can land a contract with one of the Big 5 publishers, signing that baby would definitely be worth it!



That is really amazing to hear. I know a few people who have admitted to being scared to self publish, but maybe after they see this, they'll grab the bull by the horns and dive in. :)



-What is the difference between traditional and self-publishing, and what is a hybrid publisher?
There are a bunch of differences, but really it’s a matter of rights. As an independently published author, you’d maintain all of your rights and would take all of the profits from your book sales for yourself. But you’re a one-man show.
If you’re lucky enough to land a traditional publishing contract, you’d sell your rights to the publisher and make a much lower royalty percentage. But you’d have a team of experts behind you with a vested interest in making your book awesome and selling as many copies as possible.
A hybrid author has one foot in each camp. They have been traditionally published, but also self-publish some of their works.



-What are the advantages of being a hybrid author versus just sticking with indie or traditional?
There are lots of advantages! Hybrid authors have the best of both worlds. They have the full force of a publisher’s resources gunning for their success–large traditional publishers help tremendously with marketing and may even hire a publicity firm for a project or two.
And when traditional authors self-publish on the side, they make a killing on the royalties because they’ve already got a large fan base, thanks to their publisher. Because of this, hybrid authors tend to make more money than both independent and traditional authors (on average).



I have never heard the term hybrid publisher, but that makes a lot of sense. *nods*


-What advice would you share with an aspiring author?
Decide if you want to write for pleasure or for business. It’s OK just to write for pleasure and not publish everything, just like it’s OK to be a hobby artist or musician!
But if you do want to be a career writer, realize that you’re starting a small business—and all small business require a monetary investment and a start-up period of a few years. Be willing to learn, save up, and sacrifice. Surround yourself with professionals—from top editors to bestselling authors to award-winning cover designers to marketing gurus—and I promise your hard work will pay off.


Awesome! Thank you so much for answering these questions for us, and folks, if you have any questions to ask her yourself feel free to ask her at jamie@jamiesfoley.com




Author Bio:
Jamie FoleyYA fantasy author Jamie Foley loves strategy games, home-grown berries, and Texas winters. She’s terrified of plot holes and red wasps.

Her husband is her manly cowboy astronaut muse. They live between Austin, TX and their family cattle ranch, where their hyperactive spawnling and wolfpack can run free.







Show Me The Books:
All about her series The Sentinel Trilogy
Viper: Prequel to The Sentinel TrilogyName: Viper: Prequel to The Sentinel Trilogy $9.99
eBook: $2.99
Author: Jamie Foley
Series: The Sentinel Trilogy, Book 0
Genres: Fantasy, Military, Romantic Suspense, Thriller, Urban Fantasy, Young Adult
Buy now: Signed Paperback






About: Sorvashti is a captive. Jet is a soldier. Both harness the primal power of aether.
The war is over, but the Revoth want their land back. Kidnapping, ransom, and slavery fund their terrorism, but bombing Jet’s hometown was the final straw.
Viper Unit is dispatched to take the Revoth down. But the special forces have no need for a mind-reading ‘fairy’—unless Jet can prove himself as a sniper.
Sorvashti’s clan demands she take one of the seven oaths, but her father’s political status has already chosen for her—and made her a prime target for ransom.
When Jet and Sorvashti meet behind enemy lines, revenge intertwines with survival… and a spark between them neither can ignore.


Sentinel: The Sentinel Trilogy Book 1
Name: Sentinel  $14.99
eBook: $4.99
Author: Jamie Foley
Series: The Sentinel Trilogy, Book 1
Genres: Dystopian, Fantasy, Young Adult
Buy now: Signed Paperback
About: When a meteor storm knocks out the power grid, the supernaturally gifted become pawns in humanity’s struggle for survival.
The meteor storm wasn’t such a big deal until a comet landed in the middle of the road. Now Darien’s car is wrecked, his sister is bleeding out, and the only medical aid is at the reclusive Serran Academy.
Some say the Serrans have blood-bonds with angels. Some say they have surreal mental abilities. Some say the gods grant them elemental powers.
But when the Academy is targeted for harvesting, its secrets—and the collapse of modern civilization—are the least of Darien’s worries.

Arbiter: The Sentinel Trilogy Book 2Name: Arbiter $14.99
eBook: $4.99
Author: Jamie Foley
Series: The Sentinel Trilogy, Book 2
Genres: Dystopian, Fantasy, Romantic Suspense, Urban Fantasy, Young Adult
Buy now: Signed Paperback Pre-Order

NOTIFY ME
About: Archangels return to Alani, creating a new generation of Serrans… for a price.
Jet Valinor can’t keep his secrets from Darien any longer. Sorvashti seeks revenge against her husband’s killer—a debt that can only be paid in blood.
The Lynx want their base back. The Serrans will fetch a good price for Zekk Sorrowsong, or make excellent slaves… if he can capture them before they’re betrayed from within.

Exclusive excerpt from Arbiter:

Jet’s knife dove into the wood, slicing an uneven divot into the spear’s tip.

The chunk flopped onto the pile between Jet’s boots, where the waterlogged earth softened the shavings into something that smelled like mildew and rain.

Great. Now do I just leave the divot, or should I carve the entire thing smaller to fix it?

Black hair fell into Jet’s eyes for the dozenth time, and he swatted it away. Can’t focus without food. When was the last time I ate? He was pretty sure the fruit Darien had found was inedible, but at this rate, he just might try it.

Hours had passed since he’d woken, but his head still throbbed—especially the swollen knot on the side that felt like he’d smashed it into a wall. Or a plane, apparently.

Jet glanced across the small campsite at Darien. The teen was cracking yet another coconut on a rock, peeking into the green flesh after every few impacts. He looked like Jet felt, with mosquito-gnawed skin, wild hair plastered to his neck with sweat, and mud splattered on the few pieces of sleek armor that hadn’t been discarded in the heat.

I swear I’ve never seen him before in my life. Jet squinted through the throbbing in his head. How could he possibly know everything he does about me? But he said I’m not in the Royal Guard anymore—obviously that can’t be right.

“What?” Darien paused the coconut torture to tilt his head at Jet. “Did you remember everything yet?”

Jet snapped his gaze back to his spear. “The sun’s setting. We’ll need more firewood to keep it going through the night.” After the hours they’d spent finally getting a flame going, losing it was a worst-case scenario. “Can you find some that isn’t wet this time?”

Darien snorted and dropped the coconut next to its plump brethren, across the camp from the ant-covered discard pile. “Is there anything dry on this swamp island?”

“Good question,” Jet muttered. “Why don’t you fly around with those fancy wings and check?” Apparently waking up in the middle of a jungle wasn’t insane enough, so the teen had sprouted wings like a sunburned pubescent angel to search for resources.

I’m definitely drugged. Creator, let me be drugged.

•••••
Still With Us?

Now for those who have hung around, dundudun! GIVEAWAY TIME!!! Just fill out the forum below to enter!





You can use this link if the embed code isn’t working for ya.

https://goo.gl/forms/t92uVgb7qSKAz6Ud2

Saturday, May 6, 2017

Tyger, Tyger (The Haunting of Grey Hills #6) by Jennifer Skogen

Synopsis

Title: Tyger, Tyger
Series: The Haunting of Grey Hills #6
Author: Jennifer Skogen
Genre: Mature Young Adult/Young Adult/Paranormal/Horror
My Rating: 5/5
Add To: Goodreads



In the thrilling conclusion of The Haunting of Grey Hills, a final choice must be made that could change the world forever. Each person must answer one final question: what am I willing to do for the people I love? Who will die? Who will survive? What does death even mean, in a world full of ghosts?



My Thoughts
★★★★★ Stars

He closed his eyes, and then the world exploded.


I am so conflicted. I freaking LOVED this book, Don't get me wrong. But I didn't want it to end! Lol.

I don't even know where to start or what to say, but here it goes. 

This book picked up where book 5 left off, gotta admit, that's one thing I love about this series. Always picks up where it left off so there is no guessing where you're at. 
While book 5 didn't have action, I should have known the crap was about to hit the fan. Seriously. Book 5 was the calm before the storm. 

Tyger, Tyger was one heck of a storm too and slam full of action. This book left my heart racing and kept me on the edge if my seat. 

If I said I didn't tear up, I'd be lying. Lol. This was a tear jerker, it was so amazing to see some favorite characters again and great to see *one* character I didn't even realized I was attached too. But I guess if you hear enough about them, when you do see them it's like they've been there all along. 


This who series was so mind-blowing. It was beautifully written that keeps you hooked. The story line was one of a kind in my opinion with a hint of RL Stine. 

I admit I wasn't a fan of the profanity but, I still stand by saying the story line was amazing. 


I guess I'll wrap this up with what we all know was coming. Lol
Fuck: 53
Shit: 12
Ass: 3
Damn: 3
Bitch: 3

Distant Deep (The Haunting of Grey Hills #5) by Jennifer Skogen

Synopsis

Title: Distant Deep
Series: The Haunting of Grey Hills #5
Author: Jennifer Skogen
Genre: Mature Young Adult/Young Adult/Paranormal/Horror
My Rating: 4/5
Add To: Goodreads



A long forgotten mystery may decide the fate of the world. The group is fractured as Sam races against time to find a cure for Jackson before it is too late. Meanwhile, an important figure from Trev's past resurfaces, forcing him to decide once and for all where his loyalties lie.






My Thoughts
★★★★ Stars

Death is not the end. I am still here.



I think I have reached that part of the series where the reader doesn't even want to review because they have to know what happens next. But alas, I must review. 

Not much happened in this book which was a bit if a bummer. But I'm glad they offered more information. Especially about Mabel. I did not see that. I like Mabel. But I have a feeling that's gonna bite me in the butt. Lol. I'm so nervous to start book 6. I really don't want this series to end. 

There really isn't much to say in this review because really not much action happened, it mainly just offered a lot of important information that really leaves you with your eyes bulging asking "are you serious?!" 

I still stand by the fact I can't stand Claire. -_- I want Macy back! *cries*

And if you've read previous reviews, you saw this next bit coming. 
Fuck: 75
Shit: 16
Damn: 5
Bitch: 4
Ass: 3
Hell: 3
Bastard: 2

Thursday, May 4, 2017

April Book Wind-Up

Hey everyone, sorry I am getting this up so late! I have just had a lot going on and this month is a really tough month for me. Especially with my mom's passing date coming up. I tell ya, 2 years and it still feels like yesterday. I miss her so much. Sorry, I know you didn't come here for this. Sometimes I can't help it. It just comes out. Anyway, On with the show. Here are the books I read during April. Got a pretty good bunch this month.




Title: Path to the Key
Series: Destruction of Magic
Author: April Canavan
Genre: Mature/Adult/Erotica/Supernatural
My Rating: 4/5
Add To: Goodreads
Full Review: Click Here


I got to read the baby before my Kindle decided to full crap out on me. Let me just say, I am glad I got to read this book before it did. I actually reall enjoyed this book. It was so addicting, I didn't want to put it down. Sure there were some things that had issues, but in the end. It was still a good book.


Title: Red Queen
Series: Red Queen
Author: Victoria Aveyard
Genre: Young Adult/Dystopia/Supernatural
My Rating: 5/5
Add To: Goodreads
Full Review:


This is the best book I have read this year. I can also throw in, it is in my favorite top 5. Red Queen... oh my gosh. It's going to stick with me until I die! that is how awesome this book was. If you haven't read it, I don't know what the heck you are waiting for because it is one you don't want to miss.

Title: The Burning
Series: The Haunting of Grey Hills
Author: Jennifer Skogen
Genre: Mature Young Adult/Young Adult/Paranormal/Horror
My Rating: 3/5
Add To: Goodreads
Full Review: Click Here


It is hard to do a round up this book now because I love the series so much. Lol It really makes me want to go through and change all my ratings to 4 stars. But I don't think that would be right. Who knows, for all I know, by the end of the series, they all might end up 5 stars because I've gotten use to the cussing.

Okay, sorry I got kinda off topic. I wouldn't call this series a YA. unless you wanted to go with Mature Young Adult. There is just so much cussing and I have no idea why, in all honesty. The book story line is AMAZING. There is no need for all the cussing. Take the cussing out and you have a shining 5 star book, hands down.

Title: Forests of the Night
Series: The Haunting of Grey Hills #2
Author: Jennifer Skogen
Genre: Mature Young Adult/Young Adult/Paranormal/Horror
My Rating: 3/5
Add To: Goodreads
Full Review: Click Here

I devoured this book. As soon as I put book down, I picked this one up. There was no way I could wait to know what happened. The ending of this one left me in a ball crying though.

Title: What Dread Hand
Series: The Haunting of Grey Hills #3
Author: Jennifer Skogen
Genre: Mature Young Adult/Young Adult/Paranormal/Horror
My Rating: 4/5
Add To: Goodreads
Full Review: Click Here



I didn't really enjoy this book as much as the rest. Don't get me wrong, I still loved it. Especially with the cussing cut waaaaaaayyyyyyyy down. and it was awesome to go back in time and see how this started. It just seemed to lack that *something*.


Title: Me & Earl & the Dying Girl
Author: Jesse Andrews
Genre: Mature Young Adult/New Adult/Fiction
My Rating: 1/5
Add To: Goodreads
Full Review: Click Here


The worst book I have read this year. Possibly ever. I fail to see how this is a best seller and I do NOT understand how it is Young Adult. I would never want my child reading this disgusting crap.

Sinews of Thy Heart (The Haunting of Grey Hills #4) by Jennifer Skogen

Synopsis

Title: Sinews of Thy Heart
Series: The Haunting of Grey Hills #4
Author: Jennifer Skogen
Genre: Mature Young Adult/Young Adult/Paranormal/Horror
My Rating: 4/5
Add To: Goodreads


After an unthinkable tragedy on Halloween, Jackson must decide if he should stay in Grey Hills, or pack up everything and leave with Sam and the others. A new start is appealing, but Dominick has made it clear that Jackson is not welcome. When Jackson starts sleepwalking and hearing voices, he isn't sure if he is going crazy, or if he has inherited an unspeakable power. Meanwhile, Claire is determined to find out exactly what happened on Halloween, which brings Jackson into her line of fire.




My Thoughts
★★★★ Stars

There are screams too, and weeping. And laughter. The kind of laughs that you only hear in a madhouse. It is the laughter that keeps me awake at night. Children's laughs, Women.

Books that leave you breathless are truly the BEST kind. There are so many things that happened in the book that made me feel like my heart was going to explode! It continues where book three left off, which is what I love about this series. No guessing where you are. Lol) 

There was the cussing thing again though.
Fuck: 95
Shit: 20
Ass: 5
Bitch: 5
Damn: 4
Pissed: 2
Bastard: 1
Whore: 1

I still stand by saying it is a great story line. The cussing is just overkill and unnecessary. 

In this book, I seriously thought a certain *someone* would make a reappearance... Sadly they did not. BUT someone else does. Actually... I want to say 2 come back even though one was already here, just not a very active ... and it is safe to say, I really can NOT stand this character. She should have been the one to "go missing" lol. I suppose that makes me a horrible person, but oh well. Hahaha for real though. I would like to throw in, I think Jackson is growing on me. Which I kinda hate because of what happened in the earlier books.  Ugh I really am a horrible person. 
Anywho...

It is actually harder to review this book because so much happened in this book that it's hard to say anything without giving a lot away, so this review isn't very long, I apologize. 

That freaking ending! Are you kidding me! How can you end it like that? *spaz* I gotta find out what happens next. 

Saturday, April 29, 2017

A Blogger/Book Reviewer Asking For Help

Hey all!!
Hopefully y'all are all having a fun and awesome weekend!

My weekend hasn't been to good. My kindle is out of commission so I've had to turn down a lot of review requests lately. So it brings me to this....


I could use y'alls help. I've started a #gofundme campaign in hopes to raising enough to get a new kindle. If y'all could help in any way by donating or sharing, anything really. I'll be forever grateful.

GoFundMe Link

I really miss reviewing books and helping indie authors. I miss helping them get their books out there. Help me help them. 🙏 🌹


Please and thank you. If you have any questions, feel free to ask.

Friday, April 28, 2017

Instagram Bookstagram 🤔

I have to admit, I haven't been here as much as I use to be. I only have myself to blame, I suppose. I have been on Instagram for years but only recently stumbled upon the wondrous world of Bookstagram.
It is what Goodreads use to be, really. I know I know "*gasp* those are fighting words!" but if you really think about it. Goodreads use to be about books and reviewing and other bookworms sharing the love of books. But it seems like lately every time I log on, not many are actually reviewing books. They are mostly just commenting on games or trying to win books they will never even read.
But, that is beside the point of this since I was meaning to just talk about bookstagramming.

I have come across the most amazing, sweetest people while bookstagramming. abdulia_ortiz, livin.the.fandomlife, angelena_vee, the_pufflehuffle_kitteh, and sooooo many more. If I tried to name everyone I would literally be here all day and night for a while. Lol

It is so amazing seeing so many beautiful pictures of their books and seeing how one book can have SO MANY different personalities. I can only wish to have half the talent most of these people have. I missed talking about books and sharing the book love. Lol.

I guess what I am trying to say is if you don't see me here, I am definitely there. Lol. If you haven't found your book "family" I would recommend bookstagramming.

Don't get me wrong. Like everything on the internet, it has it's trolls as well. but I must say I am amazed at how tight-nit the bookstagram community is. You mess with one, you mess with all and seriously reminds me of the Hogwarts battle.

Totally badass, right?

What can I say?
*image not mine but I completely agree ♥♥♥♥*

Me & Earl & the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews

Synopsis

Title: Me & Earl & the Dying Girl
Author: Jesse Andrews
Genre: Mature Young Adult/New Adult/Fiction
My Rating: 1/5
Add To: Goodreads



Greg Gaines is the last master of high school espionage, able to disappear at will into any social environment. He has only one friend, Earl, and together they spend their time making movies, their own incomprehensible versions of Coppola and Herzog cult classics.
Until Greg’s mother forces him to rekindle his childhood friendship with Rachel.
Rachel has been diagnosed with leukemia—-cue extreme adolescent awkwardness—-but a parental mandate has been issued and must be obeyed. When Rachel stops treatment, Greg and Earl decide the thing to do is to make a film for her, which turns into the Worst Film Ever Made and becomes a turning point in each of their lives.
And all at once Greg must abandon invisibility and stand in the spotlight.


My Thoughts
★ Star

"In fact, high school is where we are first introduced to the basic question of life: How is it possible to exist in a place that sucks so bad?"

That is probably the only text in this book that I actually liked and agreed with. The rest of this book is complete and utter trash. 

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl is a perfect example of how NOT to write. I honestly have no idea how this book managed to make it to the best seller list. I also stand by the fact this should not be labeled as "Young Adult". It should be Adult, even New Adult. I'll even go as far as saying MATURE YA (which is really pretty much New Adult, but hopefully you get my point) 

the main character in this book is just a disgusting slime ball. And trust me when I say Earl TOPS disgusting slime ball. He is the type that really makes you wonder how he has friends at all unless he has a gun to their head saying "we are gonna be friends!" Which.... I actually would not put passed him to do. 

I admit part of me wanted to feel bad for Earl. I really did. I mean, you have a deadbeat mom and dad. Your house is falling apart covered in dog poop, vomit, dirty clothes.... The works of any hoodrat. But then I thought, well, I can't feel bad because there are plenty of people in that same situation and still manage to make straight A's, clean the poop and vomit. Ya know. the HUMANE thing to do. And of course we can't exactly feel bad for him when 1) he is a drug dealer and 2) the fact for 2 pages plus more scattered through this book he continuously says degrading things such as "You gonna eat her pussy?" "You better eat dat pussy." "Ew bro ain't nobody trying to hear vagina! that's nasty!" among much more trash along those lines.  
Earl turns my stomach. I'm not even kidding. Every time he was brought up, I just wanted to puke.
Do I really need to bring up the 13 year old "TRU NIGGA" neck tattooed, drug dealing, drop out, brother that knocked up some chick? Or is that pretty self explanatory?

Can you believe I hated this book so bad, I literally can not remember the main characters name? Oh well, don't really care. he really is no better. He is crude and makes my skin crawl. He reminds me of one of those creepers that just stand there wide eyed watching your every move throwing out the vibe "I'm going to watch you poop" or something. Ugh! 

I noticed a lot of times he went on and on about all these groups that hate each other and the trick to surviving high school is to be in with all of them without them knowing...and he thought he was "all that" because he managed to do that..... I really wonder if it ever crossed his mind that he was THAT much of a loser that he isn't in with ANY group, that they just tiny nod at him in hopes that he won't bother them because really no one likes him. Like even the "gothy dorks" and losers want nothing to do with him. Hmmmmmm..... Would make perfect sense if you ask me. and I hated how he guilt tripped that girl into talking to him. He lied through his dang teeth and made her feel bad. Words really don't cover how low that is and how much it pissed me off. 

I have never hated a main character so much in my life and that is saying a lot. Than again, I don't think I have ever hated a book as much as I have this one. Even the parents made me roll my eyes. They are so freaking oblivious to what is going on. 


This book was just terrible. The constant change between novel to screen play made me want to scream. The narration was cringe-worthy. The whole "this book is so stupid, why are you still reading" really made me ask myself why the hell I was. But people kept telling me it gets better, it gets better. eerrrrr.....no. No it didn't. Anywho, back to the narration the whole "I should punch myself in the eyeball/I punched myself in the eyeball/you should punch yourself in the eyeball for reading this" on and on and on and on... like really dude? What the hell is the point of saying that? It's stupid and pointless.  

I would never in my life recommend this book. There are much better books out there. This is not one of them.

What Dread Hand (The Haunting of Grey Hills, #3) by Jennifer Skogen

Synopsis

Title: What Dread Hand
Series: The Haunting of Grey Hills #3
Author: Jennifer Skogen
Genre: Mature Young Adult/Young Adult/Paranormal/Horror
My Rating: 4/5
Add To: Goodreads


What really happened during the Fire of 1966? Go back in time and see the famous tragedy through the eyes of student Henry Grey and history teacher Lorna Evans. Henry's uncle, Principle Grey, is teaching Henry to fight ghosts... but is there something his uncle isn't telling him? Lorna returns to Grey Hills after inheriting her father's house. She also inherits an urn of her grandfather's ashes, which may contain more than meets the eye.

My Thoughts
★★★★ Stars
I think it's safe to say I am addicted to this series. 

I really loved how this book went back in time and explained a lot of how it all started. It actually reminds me a lot of the Fear Street books by RL Stine. 

I really liked that this book didn't have as much cussing as the rest but I still stand by the fact still a lot was unnecessary. Also when she threatened her class that if they move, she would wring their necks. Man if a teacher EVER threatened my kids like that she'd never teach again. 

Any who, I felt this story lacked a bit though. Don't get me wrong, I loved this book. I just feel like it lacked that "umph" that the previous books had. 

But man that surprise blew me away. I knew it had to be somthing like that but it still shocked the heck out of me. 

I really can't wait to read the next book and see where it takes everything

Friday, April 21, 2017

Forests of the Night (The Haunting of Grey Hills #2) by Jennifer Skogen

Synopsis

Title: Forests of the Night
Series: The Haunting of Grey Hills #2
Author: Jennifer Skogen
Genre: Mature Young Adult/Young Adult/Paranormal/Horror
My Rating: 3/5
Add To: Goodreads


"The Door of the Dead is open, and Macy hones her newfound powers destroying the ghosts who emerge. However, when she meets a ghost who reminds her of her dead brother, Macy decides to spare him. While Dominick and his friends try to find a way to close the Door, Macy's dangerous friendship grows stronger. Ultimately, everyone must decide what secrets are worth keeping, and what price they are willing to pay for them"






My Thoughts
★★★ Stars

Don't you sometimes wish that pets would come back instead of people? Puppies and hamsters following us around. Little poodle ghosts?

Man, I can NOT get over this story line. It is so off the charts for me. I am so invested in this story and the characters now that I want to read the whole series in one sitting. I enjoy the story line so much, it's literally the only thing that keeps me reading and sucked in. I've never in my life read anything quiet like this before.

But... Just like book one, it has its issues. Mainly, the profanity. Again, by chapter two I started keeping tally.
*Fuck-65
*Shit-25
*Ass-7
*Bitch-5
*Hell-3
*Damn-3
*Pissed-2



Again, the cussing was just nonstop and so unnecessary. I just don't understand the need to have all these in here so often to the point where you leave readers asking "Why did you even put that there?"

And the drinking takes a more active roll in this book. Trev pretty much STAYS wasted. And somehow they always manage to have alcohol on had with no parents knowing. Then again the parents in these books are pretty much null and void.



Sorry, I'm just not a fan of the cussing and drinking nonstop. Especially since this is classed as Middle Grade/Young Adult. It sets a really horrible example.


If the story line wasn't so dang good I would have quit reading halfway through book one. Lol. I'm so conflicted! I don't know how I feel about them. Like I'm obsessed with the books for the storyline but despise it for the profanity and drinking. Lol ugh.


That ending though.

You're gonna end it like that?! Oh heck naw!!! Lol

I admit, once the dead bodies started showing up, I knew what was going on. But the last two pages. Oh. Freaking. Crap. did not see that coming! I think I stared slack-jawed for a good 5 minutes before I got my barrings back. Haha.

I'm really looking forward to book three but judging by these first two, I won't hold my breath for less profanity.

Thursday, April 20, 2017

The Burning (The Haunting of Grey Hills #1) by Jennifer Skogen

Synopsis

Title: The Burning
Series: The Haunting of Grey Hills
Author: Jennifer Skogen
Genre: Mature Young Adult/Young Adult/Paranormal/Horror
My Rating: 3/5
Add To: Goodreads


Everyone in Grey Hills knows about the fire that burned down the old high school fifty years ago. Macy Pierce grew up hearing horror stories about the students who burned alive inside it. It was a tragic accident...right? After Macy's brother dies over the summer, she doesn't expect the first day of her junior year to feel normal. But when she starts seeing things - including a teacher bursting into flames - she begins to question her own sanity. Now, she sees signs of the dead everywhere, and she and a group of new friends may be all that stands between the new high school and a doorway to hell.





My Thoughts 
★★★ Stars

When I saw this book in the library, I didn't even have to read what it was about. The cover alone made me know I HAD to read it. So I got home and that's exactly what I did. 

And I quickly realized this book should not be in Middle Grade/Young Adult section. It should be in Mature YA/Adult. 



As much as I really want to give this book 5 stars, I can't. The Burning has potential. It really does. But there is just a lot that really ticked me off. Such as:

-the profanity. It's was unnecessary. I could understand a few, but this went way over the limit and were placed in ways that made me think the author had no idea what to say or put, so she just threw those in. 
They cussed so much that by chapter 2 I decided to keep track of all cussing. By chapter seven, I could no longer put my pen down because they came so often. 
*Shit-23
*Fuck-54
*Hell-3
*Ass-3
*Damn-2
*Bitch-2
*Bastards-1
***I'm sure I missed a few, so there are probably more.***

The other problems I had with this book was all the drinking and yet no adult noticed at all. Seriously? You gotta be kidding. And they just did it nonchalantly. And also there was a scene that was clearly an assault yet it was just brushed off like it was nothing which REALLY pissed me off. 

And lets not forget how Claire WANTED to make someone have PTSD. Like that's just some big joke. OR later when we learn that Macy once tried to hurt herself by cutting........ With a freaking butter knife. 

Are. You. Kidding. PTSD and cutting are not JOKES! They aren't somthing you just take lightly. And in this book they were unnecessary and uncalled for. 


Now the story itself? 
Oh man it was so amazing and creepy. I mean if the cusswords were removed thus book could have easily been a 5 star book. I didn't see that ending coming at all. And the ghost dude scared the crap out if me. Lol. Every time he popped up, I looked around scared because it just FELT like he was there. Mega creepy. Lol

The characters are interesting. I'll give them that. 

I got book 2 and 3 when I grabbed book 1....so hopefully it gets better and they chill out with the cussing.

Tuesday, April 18, 2017

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Synopsis

Title: Red Queen
Series: Red Queen
Author: Victoria Aveyard
Genre: Young Adult/Dystopia/Supernatural
My Rating: 5/5
Add To: Goodreads


This is a world divided by blood – red or silver.
The Reds are commoners, ruled by a Silver elite in possession of god-like superpowers. And to Mare Barrow, a seventeen-year-old Red girl from the poverty-stricken Stilts, it seems like nothing will ever change.
That is, until she finds herself working in the Silver Palace. Here, surrounded by the people she hates the most, Mare discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy the balance of power.
Fearful of Mare’s potential, the Silvers hide her in plain view, declaring her a long-lost Silver princess, now engaged to a Silver prince. Despite knowing that one misstep would mean her death, Mare works silently to help the Red Guard, a militant resistance group, and bring down the Silver regime.
But this is a world of betrayal and lies, and Mare has entered a dangerous dance – Reds against Silvers, prince against prince, and Mare against her own heart.




My Thoughts 
★★★★★+++ Stars


If you are ever looking for a book that will be so mind-numbing fantastic that it makes you forget how to review or makes you just forget EARTH.... this is the book for you!


"In the stories, the old fairy tales, a hero comes. But all my heroes are gone or dead. No one is coming for me."

Red Queen oh ...my... gosh. Why did I take so long to get this book. Why did I wait so long to even read it when I got it? I regret not reading it right away because I deprived myself of one of the greatest books I have ever read. Lol. Red Queen was PHENOMENAL.

The only problem I had wasn't even really a problem, but it was a bit silly was her name. I couldn't help thing "Man, did your parents hate you?" because really... who names their kid so close to bone marrow? But then I remembered some people name their kids Apple and Shortcake, so ... I guess it fits. Anyway...

Other than that really, this book was just perfection. That ending. I swear once it got to the end of the book it was like a domino effect was set into motion and you leave your soul about 50 miles back where the hell it started all while your heart is being used as a chew toy.

Victoria Aveyard, you evil evil woman. But I guess you said it yourself....
"I told you to hide your heart once. You should have listened."

It breaks your heart but man... It just keeps you sucked in that you loose all touch with the real world. It's written so perfectly that you are in the book and you feel every little thing. I agree it is a bit like The Selection but Mare is freaking Katniss, you better watch your back. Lol I highly recommend this book.

Myths & Legends Book Blitz

Myths & Legends banner

Today is the release day for the Myths & Legends boxed set! Get 20 books from 20 different authors in one boxed set for only 0.99$!

This is my stop during the book blitz for the Myths & Legends Boxed Set. This is the sixth and final post during this tour. This book blitz is organized by Lola's Blog Tours.

Myths & Legends is a compilation of 20 Full-Length Paranormal Romance and Urban Fantasy reads currently available to buy for only 99c, including works from New York Times, USA Today, Bestselling, and various Award-Winning authors!

Myths & LegendsMyths & Legends
by Margo Bond Collins, N.R. Larry, Joanne Wadsworth, J.H. Croix, Madisyn Ashmore, Michelle Madow, Amber Lynn Natusch, Chrissy Peebles, Genevieve Jack, Siobhan Davis, S.L. Morgan, J.L. Hendricks, Lisa Manifold, Corinne O’Flynn, Andrea Pearson, Emily Martha Sorensen, Ever Coming, Sarah M Cradit, Rachael Slate, Olivia Wildenstein and Cael Percy
Genre: Paranormal Romance and Urban Fantasy
Age category: Young Adult, New Adult and Adult
Release Date: 18 April, 2017

Blurb:
The MYTHS & LEGENDS Boxed Set is a compilation of 20 Full-Length Paranormal Romance and Urban Fantasy reads, including works from USA Today bestsellers, Bestselling Harlequin authors, and various Award-Winning authors!

Gear up for a collection packed with an exciting mix of undiscovered existing titles and brand new content! The pages inside are packed with everything from vampires, faeries, witches, and shifters to romantic quests, cities brimming with paranormal activity, secret societies, and ruthless villains.

With over a million words of fiction, this is your one stop shop for vampire and witch romance, urban fantasy, shifter romance, and spellbinding myths from more than twenty bestselling authors!

*Estimated Total Page Count: 5,000+


You can find Myths & Legends on Goodreads

20 books in one boxed set for only 0.99$!
Buy the Myths & Legends boxed set for only 0.99$ here:
- Amazon
- Barnes & Noble
- Kobo
- iBooks

Myths & Legends boxed set cover


The Authors:
Margo Bond Collins
N.R. Larry
Joanne Wadsworth
J.H. Croix
Madisyn Ashmore
Michelle Madow
Amber Lynn Natusch
Chrissy Peebles
Genevieve Jack
Siobhan Davis
S.L. Morgan
J.L. Hendricks
Lisa Manifold
Corinne O’Flynn
Andrea Pearson
Emily Martha Sorensen
Ever Coming
Sarah M Cradit
Rachael Slate
Olivia Wildenstein
Cael Percy

Release Day Giveaway
Myths & Legends Giveaway banner

The authors of this box set are hosting a big giveaway to celebrate the release of the Myths & Legends box set! One winner will win a $100 Amazon gift card!

For a chance to win enter the giveaway here:
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tour Wide Giveaway

During the book blitz for Myths & Legends there’s a tour wide giveaway! These are the prizes you can win:
- 5 Myths & Legends Boxsets
- 3 $10 Amazon Gift Cards
- Various signed paperbacks by the participating authors

For a chance to win, enter the rafflecopter below:
a Rafflecopter giveaway